Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Vancheng

Pack of questions (not basic)

Recommended Posts

Hello! Im not new to descent, we recently resumed to play this awesome game and at some point I've found that not every thing in this game is crystall clear to me. I googled before posting,and still maybe some questions were answered before, but I didnt find it. Thanks in advance for taking your time 

 

1) Q: Does forced movement in hazard spaces deal damage? For an instance if you knock hero with ettin it counts that hero enters the space, so he suffers 1  damage, but what if you move hero through lava with dark          charm?

   and what if you move hero via dark charm near master spider, will he suffer fatigue?

   and what if you knock hero to pit space will he suffer 2 damage and fall into it? It seems I need rule of thumb for this one

 

   A: Yes, entering a space is entering a space. But when hero is under dark charm he is treated like monster and thus wont suffer fatigue from spider web

 

2) Large monsters and pit, this is what FAQ says: "Large monsters suffer the effects of entering and being in a pit space only if their movement ends or is interrupted so that each space they occupy is a pit space."

     So am I correct that if large monster has only one of his spaces in pit it can start moving from that space without any problems?

 

  A: Yes, this means that in theory a Barghest could fly over a pit 6 spaces wide. But these situation never happen in the game though.

 

3)  Q: I found tons of discussion about this one but never found one final answer. Can large monster interrupt its move action with another move action to expand at the moment of interruption?

 

  A: Yes, but it can only interrupt to perform an action, if that is legal. This means that a shadow dragon cannot interupt its move action to expand into range because it still needs to be adjacent to declare an attack. However, the shadow dragon can end its move     action, expand into range, and then attack. To come back to your question: a large monster can interrupt its move action to perform another move action because you don't have restrictions when it comes to performing move action (in general, no blocked space etc).

 

3) Q: Heart seeker bow does not need a LOS, can it shoot throught monsters in blocked corridors?

 

     A: when it does not need line of sight you completely ignore this requirement. However, you must still have range and be able to count the squares for that. So you can't shoot through obstacles/ doors!

 

 

4) Q: Can Zyla move throught monster figures or she can go only throught obstacles?

     A: Yes, monsters are blocked spaces for the purpose of hero movement, and she may ignore them. Except when she is ending her movement of course.

 

5) Q: Phantasm card in Dark Illusions Plot deck reads: "exhaust this card.....each attack that targets that monster must roll 3 range in addition to any other range requirements, or the attack is a miss".

    Does this one stack with Stealth abliity ? (Deep elfs keeps their fingers crossed for this one)

    A: Yes

 

6) Q: Geomancer summon stone counts as obstacle, so am I correct that even heroes cant walk through it AND cant count range throught them? Also overlord cant play "hero target" cards on them, right?

     A: Yes, heroes treat the Summoned Stones as obstacles, they can't count through them and cant target them with cards.  In short, Summoned stones can only be affected by hero/monster attacks.

 

7) Q: Geomancer terracall:  Exhaust this card to place a Summoned Stone in an empty space within 3 spaces of you.

While this card is exhausted, 1 of your Summoned Stones may perform an attack during its activation (using 1 of your equipped Magic weapons). 

 

So is it correct that this attack cant use hero abilities and items like mana weave, because this is stone who makes attack not the hero, and u cant use reflective ward or overwhelming power on it for the same reasons. Also hero cant restore stamina throught this attack, correct? And do you add surge for adjacent stone on this attack, cause you add surge on yours attack but does this attack counts as "yours"? 

 

 A:  Yes and the stone can not recover something for you, just like another hero can't transfer those things to you. And no, the stone is not affected by the extra surge, only the Geomancer profits from that.

 

8) Q: Shadow flicker ability question. Flicker ability reads: "Choose 1 hero within 3 spaces of this monster. Remove this monster from the map and place it adjacent to that hero. Then, if this monster has not performed an attack this activation, that hero tests perception. If he fails, perform an attack with this monster that targets that hero."

 

So if you attacked with flicker, does it count as single attack per round or you can then perform normal attack?

 

A: It counts as the single attack a monster mat perform. This can be translated to anything that even remotly sounds like a monster attack where attack/defense dice are rolled.

 

 

9) Q:  Is it true that Thiefs skill Greed doesnt stuck with Lurk skill?

 

A: these skills dont work together

 

10) Q: While being moved by Grease trap does hero move throught other heroes or he treat them as obstacle and suffers damage when hiting them?

 

A: He can be moved through heroes AS LONG AS he can end in an empty space. 

 

11) Q: Is there any diffrence between 'enter space' and 'place you figure'? We played like OL cant play traps when figure is placed in empty space, for example with Astarra ability. And another strange moment: when hero is knocked with Ettin he counts like entering space. What if OL plays Grease Trap on him - in wich direction should he move?

 

A: If the figure was already on the map before the event that caused that figure to be moved/placed into a new space, that figure is entering that space. This explicitly includes abilities like "Remove your figure from the map and place it ...". If the figure was not on the map, that figure is not entering that space (e.g. placing reinforcements, summon familiars, standing up)." A large monster that expands into an empty space is not entering that space.

 

 

12) Q: Today while digging this forum I found Zaltyres post

 

 

Rules Question:

Is there any functional difference between the instruction "move a number of spaces" or "move up to your speed" ? For example, do these abilities treat water terrain differently? Thanks!
 
Answer:
No, there is no functional difference between “move a number of spaces” and “move up to your Speed.” In your example, both wordings ignore the effects of water terrain.
 
Thanks,
Kara Centell-Dunk
Game Developer
Fantasy Flight Games

 

This bugs me, does it mean that Berserker can move out of the pit space with charge? Also as I see it now you cant stop Berserker with a Pit trap, cause technicaly charge is not a movement at all... am I correct?

 

A: Correct. You can Charge, Skirmish, Oath of Honor, Nimble, Burrow, etc out of pits no problem.

Tripwire relies on spending MP. Pit trap does not- you can pit trap a charging or oathing hero- in fact that's the best tine as they're likely not having other MP. The trigger is just entering a space. 

 

Thank you!

Edited by Vancheng

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hello! Im not new to descent, we recently resumed to play this awesome game and at some point I've found that not every thing in this game is crystall clear to me. I googled before posting,and still maybe some questions were answered before, but I didnt find it. Thanks in advance for taking your time 

 

1) Does forced movement in hazard spaces deal damage? For an instance if you knock hero with ettin it counts that hero enters the space, so he suffers 1  damage, but what if you move hero through lava with dark        charm?

   and what if you move hero via dark charm near master spider, will he suffer fatigue?

   and what if you knock hero to pit space will he suffer 2 damage and fall into it? It seems I need rule of thumb for this one

Yes, entering a space is entering a space.

 

2) Large monsters and pit, this is what FAQ says: "Large monsters suffer the effects of entering and being in a pit space only if their movement ends or is interrupted so that each space they occupy is a pit space."

     So am I correct that if large monster has only one of his spaces in pit it can start moving from that space without any problems?

Yes, this means that in theory a Barghest could fly over a pit 6 spaces wide. But these situation never happen in the game though.

 

3)  I found tons of discussion about this one but never found one final answer. Can large monster interrupt its move action with another move action to expand at the moment of interruption?

 

Yes, but it can only interrupt to perform an action, if that is legal. This means that a shadow dragon cannot interupt its move action to expand into range because it still needs to be adjacent to declare an attack. However, the shadow dragon can end its move action, expand into range, and then attack. To come back to your question: a large monster can interrupt its move action to perform another move action because you don't have restrictions when it comes to performing move action (in general, no blocked space etc).

 

3) Heart seeker bow does not need a LOS, can it shoot throught monsters in blocked corridors?

 

I don't know this weapon but yes, when it does not need line of sight you completely ignore this requirement. However, you must still have range and be able to count the squares for that. So you can't shoot through obstacles/ doors!

 

4) Can Zyla move throught monster figures or she can go only throught obstacles?

 

Yes, monsters are blocked spaces for the purpose of hero movement, and she may ignore them. Except when she is ending her movement of course.

 

5) Phantasm card in Dark Illusions Plot deck reads: "exhaust this card.....each attack that targets that monster must roll 3 range in addition to any other range requirements, or the attack is a miss".

    Does this one stack with Stealth abliity ? (Deep elfs keeps their fingers crossed for this one)

 

Yes, Stealth sounds like 'any other range requirement' to me.

 

6) Geomancer summon stone counts as obstacle, so am I correct that even heroes cant walk through it AND cant count range throught them? Also overlord cant play "hero target" cards on them, right?

 

Yes, heroes treat the Summoned Stones as obstacles, they can't count through them. Yes, just like a regular familiar, they can't be affected by anything, the familiar card then proceeds to state that they can be affected by attacks. In short, Summoned stones can only be affected by hero/monster attacks.

 

7) Geomancer terracall:  Exhaust this card to place a Summoned Stone in an empty space within 3 spaces of you.

While this card is exhausted, 1 of your Summoned Stones may perform an attack during its activation (using 1 of your equipped Magic weapons).

 

So is it correct that this attack cant use hero abilities and items like mana weave, because this is stone who makes attack not the hero, and u cant use reflective ward or overwhelming power on it for the same reasons. Also hero cant restore stamina throught this attack, correct? And do you add surge for adjacent stone on this attack, cause you add surge on yours attack but does this attack counts as "yours"? 

 

Yes, as said before, familiars can not be affected by overlord cards (unless they are figures like the Reanimate of Wolf). And yes, the stone can not recover something for you, just like another hero can't transfer those things to you. And no, the stone is not affected by the extra surge, only the Geomancer profits from that.

 

8) Shadow flicker ability question. Flicker ability reads: "Choose 1 hero within 3 spaces of this monster. Remove this monster from the map and place it adjacent to that hero. Then, if this monster has not performed an attack this activation, that hero tests perception. If he fails, perform an attack with this monster that targets that hero."

 

So if you attacked with flicker, does it count as single attack per round or you can then perform normal attack?

 

It counts as the single attack a monster mat perform. This can be translated to anything that even remotly sounds like a monster attack where attack/defense dice are rolled.

 

Thank you!

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

wow, thank you very much!

 

 

3)  I found tons of discussion about this one but never found one final answer. Can large monster interrupt its move action with another move action to expand at the moment of interruption?

 

Yes, but it can only interrupt to perform an action, if that is legal. This means that a shadow dragon cannot interupt its move action to expand into range because it still needs to be adjacent to declare an attack. However, the shadow dragon can end its move action, expand into range, and then attack. To come back to your question: a large monster can interrupt its move action to perform another move action because you don't have restrictions when it comes to performing move action (in general, no blocked space etc).

 

This one is huge nerf for me as future OL!

 

We always played like this "Dargon moves one space expands to 3 spaces to be in range, attacks, and then moves away for two spaces"

 

And now it wont be possible, cause dragon would need to finish his move to attack... is this really the thing? You just blow my mind =D

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes I looked throught the FAQ and found this lines: "Page 16, “Large Monsters”: Add, “When interrupting a large monster’s movement to perform an action, the overlord must be able to declare the action that the large monster will perform before placing the monster’s figure on the map.”"

 

Thank you again, this is big deal, and will punch OL very hard (sadly)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

wow, thank you very much!

 

 

3)  I found tons of discussion about this one but never found one final answer. Can large monster interrupt its move action with another move action to expand at the moment of interruption?

 

Yes, but it can only interrupt to perform an action, if that is legal. This means that a shadow dragon cannot interupt its move action to expand into range because it still needs to be adjacent to declare an attack. However, the shadow dragon can end its move action, expand into range, and then attack. To come back to your question: a large monster can interrupt its move action to perform another move action because you don't have restrictions when it comes to performing move action (in general, no blocked space etc).

 

This one is huge nerf for me as future OL!

 

We always played like this "Dargon moves one space expands to 3 spaces to be in range, attacks, and then moves away for two spaces"

 

And now it wont be possible, cause dragon would need to finish his move to attack... is this really the thing? You just blow my mind =D

In the original release (before any FAQs), that is how large monster movement worked. A large monster could basically expand whenever it wanted to. This was a tad ridiculous, because a dragon could perform a move action to shrink, then (without spending any MP) expand left to attack a hero, "frenzy" OL card to expand right and attack a hero, then spend all 3 MP to just run away. Large monster movement was changed in the errata to limit them to only expanding when they could declare their action legally from the shrunken space.

 

You don't necessarily need to measure range or LOS from the shrunken space, but you need to legally have been able to before the attack is declared.

 

EDIT: I realize that last sentence might be a bit confusing, here's what I mean about the LOS. I'm referencing this diagram:

 

In the left image, the manticore is shrunk to the dotted space, and declares an attack on the hero. This is fine, because the hero is in his LOS, 3 spaces away (line drawn blue) and the manticore is a ranged monster.

 

In the right image, we see that when the manticore expands, the space he declared the attack from (now the bottom space of his figure) doesn't have LOS to the hero anymore- it's blocked by his top space (line drawn red).

 

However, this doesn't matter. The manticore still has LOS to the hero (drawn in blue), and can still perform the attack measuring from his top space (range is 2, not 3).

Edited by Zaltyre

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

EDIT: added 2 more questions

 

9) Is it true that Thiefs skill Greed doesnt stuck with Lurk skill?

 

10) While being moved by Grease trap does hero move throught other heroes or he treat them as obstacle and suffers damage when hiting them?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks for clarifications, Zaltyre

 

 

 

In the original release (before any FAQs), that is how large monster movement worked. A large monster could basically expand whenever it wanted to. This was a tad ridiculous, because a dragon could perform a move action to shrink, then (without spending any MP) expand left to attack a hero, "frenzy" OL card to expand right and attack a hero, then spend all 3 MP to just run away. Large monster movement was changed in the errata to limit them to only expanding when they could declare their action legally from the shrunken space.

 

We have never abused it such way, but for me this change greatly nerfs barghest hit&run tactic, making them very sad dogies.

 

Well I dont regret creating this post, this change is quite a deal

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

EDIT: added 2 more questions

 

9) Is it true that Thiefs skill Greed doesnt stuck with Lurk skill?

 

10) While being moved by Grease trap does hero move throught other heroes or he treat them as obstacle and suffers damage when hiting them?

 

9) Assuming you mean "stack"; no. Greedy allows you to spend an action in which you Search a search token within 3 spaces of you, at the cost of 1 fatigue. Lurk is a completely different skill that you exhaust during your turn to perform a Search action, without spending an Action, at the cost of 1 fatigue. They're separate and there's no way to stack them.

 

10) By my reading, he is being moved, and friendly units do not block movement. He'd only suffer damage if he is unable to stop due to his final destination being occupied, since he would not be able to end his movement there.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

10) Luckmann is right. He can be moved through heroes AS LONG AS he can end in an empty space. Let's imagine G is our greasy hero, and he is being grease trapped to the right. H is another hero, M is a monster, E is an empty space.

GMEE - hero cannot move right at all, he'll take 3 (damage or fatigue).

GEHE - hero will move 3, take none.

GEHM - hero will move 1, take 2.

GEEH - hero will move 2, take 1.

GHHE - move 3, take none.

Note that this is different than dark charming a hero. For that movement, dark charm says the hero is treated like a monster, not like a hero.

Edited by Zaltyre

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So my reading in regards to Large Monsters is that a Shadow Dragon can actually move its starting space a total of 10 spaces instead of 8?  As shown:

[D*][D][D'][0][0][0][0][0][0][0][0][0][0][0]

[0][0][0][1][2][D*][D][D'][0][0][0][0][0][0]  (move one, interrupt)

[0][0][0][0][0][0][0][0][1][2][D*][D][D'][0]  (second move after interrupt)

(6 MP spent with 4 spaces gained by expanding twice)

 

As opposed to two movements together:

[D*][D][D'][0][0][0][0][0][0][0][0][0][0][0]

[0][0][0][1][2][3][4][5][D*][D][D'][0][0][0]  (6 MP spent, expanding into the 8th square)

 

Is this actually considered legal and kosher without performing some OTHER action in between?  That seems really cheap and exploitative if so.  It makes the Shadow Dragon 'as fast as' a Goblin Archer and the fastest heroes!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Luckmann and Zaltyre Thank you again for help!

 

Tomkat yes you can use move action, move, finish you move avtion, expand and use move action again - this may look cheap but you need whatever help you can get when fighting these pesky heroes

Edited by Vancheng

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

EDIT: while discussing with my group what new info we aquired, another two questions arised. Added them to the topic. Soon I will add an aswers too

 

 

11) Is there any diffrence between 'enter space' and 'place you figure'? We played like OL cant play traps when figure is placed in empty space, for example with Astarra ability. And another strange moment: when hero is knocked with Ettin he counts like entering space. What if OL plays Grease Trap on him - in wich direction should he move?

 

12) Today while digging this forum I found Zaltyres post

 

Quote

 

Rules Question:

Is there any functional difference between the instruction "move a number of spaces" or "move up to your speed" ? For example, do these abilities treat water terrain differently? Thanks!
 
Answer:
No, there is no functional difference between “move a number of spaces” and “move up to your Speed.” In your example, both wordings ignore the effects of water terrain.
 
Thanks,
Kara Centell-Dunk
Game Developer
Fantasy Flight Games

 

This bugs me, does it mean that Berserker can move out of the pit space with charge? Also as I see it now you cant stop Berserker with a Pit trap, cause technicaly charge is not a movement at all... am I correct?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Correct. You can Charge, Skirmish, Oath of Honor, Nimble, Burrow, etc out of pits no problem.

Tripwire relies on spending MP. Pit trap does not- you can pit trap a charging or oathing hero- in fact that's the best tine as they're likely not having other MP. The trigger is just entering a space.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

wow, so you can pit trap charging hero and he will get stun condition cause he dont have MP, but does it make him stop? It seems like no cause he dont have MP anyway and he should continue his instruction "move up to your speed". Web Trap also will immobilise him, but wont stop, correct?

Edited by Vancheng

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

EDIT: while discussing with my group what new info we aquired, another two questions arised. Added them to the topic. Soon I will add an aswers too

 

 

11) Is there any diffrence between 'enter space' and 'place you figure'? We played like OL cant play traps when figure is placed in empty space, for example with Astarra ability. And another strange moment: when hero is knocked with Ettin he counts like entering space. What if OL plays Grease Trap on him - in wich direction should he move?

 

12) Today while digging this forum I found Zaltyres post

 

Quote

 

Rules Question:

Is there any functional difference between the instruction "move a number of spaces" or "move up to your speed" ? For example, do these abilities treat water terrain differently? Thanks!
 
Answer:
No, there is no functional difference between “move a number of spaces” and “move up to your Speed.” In your example, both wordings ignore the effects of water terrain.
 
Thanks,
Kara Centell-Dunk
Game Developer
Fantasy Flight Games

 

This bugs me, does it mean that Berserker can move out of the pit space with charge? Also as I see it now you cant stop Berserker with a Pit trap, cause technicaly charge is not a movement at all... am I correct?

 

You are correct in that he can move out of a Pit Space with Charge. But you can stop someone that does so, with a Pit Trap. They still have to move through the spaces to get to their end location, and not only can you stop them with a Pit Trap, but since they did not move by spending movement points, they are stunned.

 

A clever beserker could avoid this if he's paranoid about getting Pit Trap't, by taking a move action first (thus gaining Movement Points) and then do the Charge. If he's stopped by a Pit Trap card, he won't get stunned, because he's actually got Movement Points to lose.

Or, someone could take a movement action (and thus gain Movement Points) and then spend fatigue to move. If he gets a Pit Trap played on him, he'll lose the movement points, but at least he won't be stunned.

 

Granted, the use of this is circumstantial, but it's still an interesting thought.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

From raw description of Pit Trap I dont see why should it stop someone:

 

Play this card when a hero enters an empty space. He tests perception. If he fails, he suffers 1 damage and loses 1 movement point. If he has no movement points to lose (such as if he suffered fatigue to move), he is Stunned.

 

It just makes hero to loose 1 mp or stuns him if he have no mp to suffer. Charging hero (if he doesnt have mp) will suffer stun condition cause he dont have mp to suffer, but he still will "move up to his speed", or do I miss something?

 

Also what about question (11) ?

 

And thank you guys alot for discussion, you helped my gaming group a big deal, but we still have some problems in understanding movement

Edited by Vancheng

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

From raw description of Pit Trap I dont see why should it stop someone:

 

Play this card when a hero enters an empty space. He tests perception. If he fails, he suffers 1 damage and loses 1 movement point. If he has no movement points to lose (such as if he suffered fatigue to move), he is Stunned.

 

It just makes hero to loose 1 mp or stuns him if he have no mp to suffer. Charging hero (if he doesnt have mp) will suffer stun condition cause he dont have mp to suffer, but he still will "move up to his speed", or do I miss something?

 

Also what about question (11) ?

 

And thank you guys alot for discussion, you helped my gaming group a big deal, but we still have some problems in understanding movement

 

Since he is Stunned, he will not be able to move any further. The only action he can perform while Stunned is to discard the Stunned Condition, but if he was Charging, that's already cost him one of his actions. He'd be able to discard the Stunned Condition, but after that, his turn is over.

But I do apologize for any confusion, I misremembered the Pit Trap card, and thought it actually removed all your movement points.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

 

Since he is Stunned, he will not be able to move any further. The only action he can perform while Stunned is to discard the Stunned Condition, but if he was Charging, that's already cost him one of his actions. He'd be able to discard the Stunned Condition, but after that, his turn is over.

 

Yes his turn will be over, but does it mean that his charge is canceled? He declared charge before he got stunned, and so he have to finish it, right?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

 

 

Since he is Stunned, he will not be able to move any further. The only action he can perform while Stunned is to discard the Stunned Condition, but if he was Charging, that's already cost him one of his actions. He'd be able to discard the Stunned Condition, but after that, his turn is over.

 

Yes his turn will be over, but does it mean that his charge is canceled? He declared charge before he got stunned, and so he have to finish it, right?

 

I would say that the hero can still finish his turn since the action is already taken, but he does take the stun to his next turn. That is how I would initially rule this.

 

Furthermore, I would distinguish between 'entering' and 'placing'. Because a lot of things are 'placed' like familiars and such. The cards/abilities etc. usually clarify that 'something' must be regarded as 'entering', like 'this counts as entering a space'. If that last line is absent, abilities that rely on it don't trigger imo.

And the direction for grease trap would be the line that the Ettin throws the hero. I would pick one corner of the Ettins square, one corner of the 'landing' square and trace grease path along that line.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

 

And the direction for grease trap would be the line that the Ettin throws the hero. I would pick one corner of the Ettins square, one corner of the 'landing' square and trace grease path along that line.

 

Yes, this is how we played so far, but some additional ruling would help cause this is not mentioned in rules as far as I know

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Also about 'entering space' this is the quote from unoficial FAQ: 

 

 

Q: What is considered "entering a space".

A: If the figure was already on the map before the event that caused that figure to be moved/placed into a new space, that figure is entering that space. This explicitly includes abilities like "Remove your figure from the map and place it ...". If the figure was not on the map, that figure is not entering that space (e.g. placing reinforcements, summon familiars, standing up)." A large monster that expands into an empty space is not entering that space. (1)

 

So according to FAQ I was wrong when separated "entering space" and "placing figure in it".

Lets take Astarra for example, her ability says: "Once per round, you may spend 1 movement point to remove you figure from the map and place it in an empty space adjacent to 1 hero who is within 3 spaces of you". So it counts that she enters the space and so it is legitimate to cast grease trap on her.

Question: wich direction should she move?

 

As in example with Ettin we can draw a vector from her starting position, or we can give OL privilege to choose direction by himself, but neither of this is instructed by rules.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Also about 'entering space' this is the quote from unoficial FAQ: 

 

 

Q: What is considered "entering a space".

A: If the figure was already on the map before the event that caused that figure to be moved/placed into a new space, that figure is entering that space. This explicitly includes abilities like "Remove your figure from the map and place it ...". If the figure was not on the map, that figure is not entering that space (e.g. placing reinforcements, summon familiars, standing up)." A large monster that expands into an empty space is not entering that space. (1)

 

So according to FAQ I was wrong when separated "entering space" and "placing figure in it".

Lets take Astarra for example, her ability says: "Once per round, you may spend 1 movement point to remove you figure from the map and place it in an empty space adjacent to 1 hero who is within 3 spaces of you". So it counts that she enters the space and so it is legitimate to cast grease trap on her.

Question: wich direction should she move?

 

As in example with Ettin we can draw a vector from her starting position, or we can give OL privilege to choose direction by himself, but neither of this is instructed by rules.

Ow yeah right, I remember. We once had a discussion here on the forum if abilities that say ' take your figure off the map, spawn somewhere else' were excluded from this (Tom Burrowels feat etc). I would follow the rules of the Ettin example, straightforward and it is always better to have determined rules beforehand.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I can confirm that pit trap will NOT stop a charging berserker. He is not "performing" the charge action while stunned, he is resolving it. It was performed when it was initiated.

Second, grease trap cannot be played after an ettin throw. It specifies "when a hero enters an empty space FROM AN ADJACENT space."

Edited by Zaltyre

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'll share my humble thoughts with you guys. initially I'm kinda happy cause reading this post I've noticed me and my group are been playing most of the game correctly! (with its errata'ed content as well) However I have some added info to clarify the doubts.

 

The topic is kinda covered by experts  :D but, like I said, I'll add some pepper.

 

 

 

1) Does forced movement in hazard spaces deal damage? For an instance if you knock hero with ettin it counts that hero enters the space, so he suffers 1  damage, but what if you move hero through lava with dark        charm?
   and what if you move hero via dark charm near master spider, will he suffer fatigue?
   and what if you knock hero to pit space will he suffer 2 damage and fall into it? It seems I need rule of thumb for this one
  • This one is pretty cleared already, but I still smell a rat on the "forced movement" concept, that therm is not related to Descent yet. In the example above, Vancheng brought up a doubt I had months ago. At that time I got a response from Zaltyre, BUT I couldn't find anywhere the concept of forced movement. For me movement is a movement, doesnt matter what the source is(hero or OL). However,  confronting the text of cave spider with Grease trap it would be like a cheap move making a hero lose fatigue by sliding on a cave spider side (Moving by a grease trap effect: theorically a sliding figure would stop on a giant web - Moving intentionally: a relentless warrior would exert himself to get throw the other side of a web). So I took the Zaltyre answer at that time as a specific rule for the case.

 

11) Is there any diffrence between 'enter space' and 'place you figure'? We played like OL cant play traps when figure is placed in empty space, for example with Astarra ability. And another strange moment: when hero is knocked with Ettin he counts like entering space. What if OL plays Grease Trap on him - in wich direction should he move?

  • The 1st part of the question is easily covered - "entering a space" is the whole and "place your figure" is the part. When you place your figure in an empty space you are inevitably "entering a space". So, for me at least, the house rule you stated with Astarra is wrong, you can still target her with traps when she teleport herself (hero ability) to an empty space.

 

 

12) Today while digging this forum I found Zaltyres post

Quote
Quote

Rules Question:
Is there any functional difference between the instruction "move a number of spaces" or "move up to your speed" ? For example, do these abilities treat water terrain differently? Thanks!

Answer:
No, there is no functional difference between “move a number of spaces” and “move up to your Speed.” In your example, both wordings ignore the effects of water terrain.

Thanks,
Kara Centell-Dunk
Game Developer
Fantasy Flight Games

This bugs me, does it mean that Berserker can move out of the pit space with charge? Also as I see it now you cant stop Berserker with a Pit trap, cause technicaly charge is not a movement at all... am I correct?
  • The specific case of charge/skirmish and the use of a pit trap to get the figure stunned doesnt prevent the rest of the action, since the action itself already started BEFORE the stun land. So, you have to fulfill the whole order of the ability (charge/skirmish) and then, after its resolved, get to remove the stun - in the same turn if u still have a second action or in the next. Charge, Volucrix Reaver skirmish ability, Oath of Honor, Plague Worm burrow ability, all of those actions can be used to get the figure out of the pit without having to do the specific action of removing the figure from the map and placing it in an adjacent empty space. There is also some abilities like Nimble that can take you out of pit action free.
Edited by Dommus

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...