Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Svartnatt

Question about Skills that Provide Bonus Dice

Recommended Posts

I had a situation occur where I encountered a monster that gave me a -2 to my horror check while my Will was only at 1. It was an automatic fail, since I was reduced to -1 rolls, but I had clue tokens to spare so I spent them to roll rather than lose half my items. However, I also had the Will Skill that allows 1 extra bonus dice to be rolled when I spend clue tokens to add to my dice rolls. So I played it this way:

1. Pay 1 clue token to raise my Horror Check roll to 0 dice. No extra dice allowed for the Will Skill because no dice are actually rolled.
2. Pay another clue token to raise my Horror Check roll to 1 dice, with an extra dice thrown in for the Will Skill.

Did I play this right? When you raise your rolls to zero, and have a skill that grants bonus dice, those bonus dice only are counted if an actual roll takes place, rather than providing 1 extra bonus dice regardless of actual rolling?

Put another way, if I am at -1 to my roll, spend 1 clue token to raise it to zero, does the bonus dice due to the skill actually raise the roll to 1 dice? If so, I only needed to spend 1 clue token to get a roll, rather than the 2 I actually used...

Thanks in advance for any and all replies/answers.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Svartnatt said:

Put another way, if I am at -1 to my roll, spend 1 clue token to raise it to zero, does the bonus dice due to the skill actually raise the roll to 1 dice? If so, I only needed to spend 1 clue token to get a roll, rather than the 2 I actually used...

If you're at negative dice and spend a clue token, you are now at one die. The skill's bonus die puts you at two dice. That's how I learned it anyway.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

DrFaust said:

Svartnatt said:

Put another way, if I am at -1 to my roll, spend 1 clue token to raise it to zero, does the bonus dice due to the skill actually raise the roll to 1 dice? If so, I only needed to spend 1 clue token to get a roll, rather than the 2 I actually used...

 

If you're at negative dice and spend a clue token, you are now at one die. The skill's bonus die puts you at two dice. That's how I learned it anyway.

You re correct. The use of the clue immediately puts you up to one die, plus a second for the bonus. If that fails, and you elect to spend anouther clue, you get two more dice. Lather rinse repeat as required.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Right. Spending a clue always gives you a die. Two if you've got the appropriate skill card. There are skills from Dunwich and an investigator from Innsmouth that spend clues in a different way, but other than that, after you apply all relevant modifiers, you can't have a negative number of dice for any skill check.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...