Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
piznit

Small Payback for my friend playing Dengaroo

Recommended Posts

Thought I'd share a funny thing that happened in my game last night and make sure I get the rules/timing correct.  My friend decided to play Dengaroo, with a small resulting groan from me. 

 

But, I miraculously landed a proton bomb on Dengar, who at the time had something around 6 or 7 stress.  It wasn't being cleared anytime soon.  The face-up damage card I pushed through was Major Hull Breach.  With all that stress, he had no actions to flip it down.  Fan-freakin-tastic.  So heres the rub.  I had Sabine Crew who added a damage, but from reading the cards the damage from Sabine is done before the face up proton bomb card since it says to deal a damage before the token is removed.  That damage splashed against his last shield either way, but I was curious which order it goes in since the card that would have been flipped up due to the Hull Breach was a Direct Hit.  Assuming he had no shields, would the Sabine damage have been first, hence been face down, or second, resulting in a direct hit?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I cannot answer your timing question, but I'd like to thank you for putting out there something which hits Dengaroo REALLY hard - Action-dependent critical effects! I *almost* beat Dengaroo wtih a DeciVader build a few weeks back, Dengar being wiped from the board after a few rounds of fire and ya know what? He was limping around for most of his life on the crits Vader pushed through. Never really thought about it until now! 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thought I'd share a funny thing that happened in my game last night and make sure I get the rules/timing correct.  My friend decided to play Dengaroo, with a small resulting groan from me. 

 

But, I miraculously landed a proton bomb on Dengar, who at the time had something around 6 or 7 stress.  It wasn't being cleared anytime soon.  The face-up damage card I pushed through was Major Hull Breach.  With all that stress, he had no actions to flip it down.  Fan-freakin-tastic.  So heres the rub.  I had Sabine Crew who added a damage, but from reading the cards the damage from Sabine is done before the face up proton bomb card since it says to deal a damage before the token is removed.  That damage splashed against his last shield either way, but I was curious which order it goes in since the card that would have been flipped up due to the Hull Breach was a Direct Hit.  Assuming he had no shields, would the Sabine damage have been first, hence been face down, or second, resulting in a direct hit?

Major Hull Breach doesn't take effect until the following round, so either way Sabine's damage wouldn't have triggered it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thought I'd share a funny thing that happened in my game last night and make sure I get the rules/timing correct.  My friend decided to play Dengaroo, with a small resulting groan from me. 

 

But, I miraculously landed a proton bomb on Dengar, who at the time had something around 6 or 7 stress.  It wasn't being cleared anytime soon.  The face-up damage card I pushed through was Major Hull Breach.  With all that stress, he had no actions to flip it down.  Fan-freakin-tastic.  So heres the rub.  I had Sabine Crew who added a damage, but from reading the cards the damage from Sabine is done before the face up proton bomb card since it says to deal a damage before the token is removed.  That damage splashed against his last shield either way, but I was curious which order it goes in since the card that would have been flipped up due to the Hull Breach was a Direct Hit.  Assuming he had no shields, would the Sabine damage have been first, hence been face down, or second, resulting in a direct hit?

What list were you flying?

Because I'd love to get to fire two fully Advanced Proton Torpedoes with Dengar into it.

Thought it was going to be a good idea to bump into Dengar jn order to save yourself from the APT? That's cute, Inertial Dampeners. Here comes the APT, open up! Choo Choo!

Just give up, there is no hope. You're doomed. :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

Thought I'd share a funny thing that happened in my game last night and make sure I get the rules/timing correct.  My friend decided to play Dengaroo, with a small resulting groan from me. 

 

But, I miraculously landed a proton bomb on Dengar, who at the time had something around 6 or 7 stress.  It wasn't being cleared anytime soon.  The face-up damage card I pushed through was Major Hull Breach.  With all that stress, he had no actions to flip it down.  Fan-freakin-tastic.  So heres the rub.  I had Sabine Crew who added a damage, but from reading the cards the damage from Sabine is done before the face up proton bomb card since it says to deal a damage before the token is removed.  That damage splashed against his last shield either way, but I was curious which order it goes in since the card that would have been flipped up due to the Hull Breach was a Direct Hit.  Assuming he had no shields, would the Sabine damage have been first, hence been face down, or second, resulting in a direct hit?

What list were you flying?

Because I'd love to get to fire two fully Advanced Proton Torpedoes with Dengar into it.

Thought it was going to be a good idea to bump into Dengar jn order to save yourself from the APT? That's cute, Inertial Dampeners. Here comes the APT, open up! Choo Choo!

Just give up, there is no hope. You're doomed. :)

 

 

I was flying Miranda with Proton Bombs EM Sabine, 2Golds with Conner EM and AutoBlasters, and Bob.  Who's Bob you ask?  He's the random guy that flies the Bandit Z-95.  Bob's awesome.  Don't underestimate Bob.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thought I'd share a funny thing that happened in my game last night and make sure I get the rules/timing correct.  My friend decided to play Dengaroo, with a small resulting groan from me. 

 

But, I miraculously landed a proton bomb on Dengar, who at the time had something around 6 or 7 stress.  It wasn't being cleared anytime soon.  The face-up damage card I pushed through was Major Hull Breach.  With all that stress, he had no actions to flip it down.  Fan-freakin-tastic.  So heres the rub.  I had Sabine Crew who added a damage, but from reading the cards the damage from Sabine is done before the face up proton bomb card since it says to deal a damage before the token is removed.  That damage splashed against his last shield either way, but I was curious which order it goes in since the card that would have been flipped up due to the Hull Breach was a Direct Hit.  Assuming he had no shields, would the Sabine damage have been first, hence been face down, or second, resulting in a direct hit?

What list were you flying?

Because I'd love to get to fire two fully Advanced Proton Torpedoes with Dengar into it.

Thought it was going to be a good idea to bump into Dengar jn order to save yourself from the APT? That's cute, Inertial Dampeners. Here comes the APT, open up! Choo Choo!

Just give up, there is no hope. You're doomed. :)

If you bump dengar, inertial dampeners wont let dengar shoot you. If you try to BLOCK dengar, that could be a different story.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

 

Meh

Wasn't console fire

Now that would have been karmatic

Been there. Survived that. Died to a debris cloud anyway. :P

 

 

that's what you get for thinking you care as little about about debris as dash

 

Almost as little. Won that game anyway.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

i ALWAYS take damage when i go through debris.

 

Several people around here bring debris because of either dash or it lets them be more reckless. I never, ever see them take damage from it, but i'll dodge it the entire game and round15 or something stupid like that i'll finally tag the tip of one and take damage. Usually at that point being the final blow.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Many moons ago I was playing a campaign scenario and dropped a first-round Proton Bomb on to PtL Han Solo.  Injured Pilot.  Things went steadily downhill for the smuggler after that.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Pretty sure it's user choice since there bomb deals its card when it detonates, then the token is removed and Sabine says deal damage before the token is removed. Looks like the same window to me so I would say user chooses order.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Answering the OP question. If the Proton Bomb dealt a face up of Direct Hit! it does not affect the last Shield, but is counted against defenders Hull.

 

Therefore, if you manage to hit Dengar with 2 proton bombs, 1 causing Direct Hit and another causing Major Explosion that causes another Direct hit, he goes down, without even 1 shield taken down (and before Sabine jumps in).

 

 

 

 

I might start playing double K-wing only to have a slightest chance of doing that combo...  :ph34r:

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Answering the OP question. If the Proton Bomb dealt a face up of Direct Hit! it does not affect the last Shield, but is counted against defenders Hull.

 

Therefore, if you manage to hit Dengar with 2 proton bombs, 1 causing Direct Hit and another causing Major Explosion that causes another Direct hit, he goes down, without even 1 shield taken down (and before Sabine jumps in).

 

 

 

 

I might start playing double K-wing only to have a slightest chance of doing that combo...  :ph34r:

 

Except Major Explosion has you suffer a critical damage, which would go against the shield.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...