Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
LugWrench

Multiple questions from a dabbler

Recommended Posts

I picked up the core set and a few expansions a while back, but I only ever dabbled in the game...nothing too serious.  Just recently, a friend picked up the core set (as well as **** near every expansion) and we started playing.  Along the way, a few questions occurred to me that I was unable to find answers for in the rulebook or the online FAQ...or I just looked right past them.

How many of what type of attacks can a capital ship make during its attack phase.  I know that ships can make one attack from two arcs (barring upgrade cards), but how many attacks can a capital ship make against squadrons?  Does a capital ship make one attack against another ship, and one attack against one squadron?

In what order are hits and crits canceled by shields?  If I have two hits and two crits against me, and only two shields, which ones are absorbed by the shields and which hit the hull?

How many points is a 'standard' game?  I know that the core book says 300, but I swear I have heard that has been upped to 400.

 

Who put the ram in the ramma-lamma-ding-dong?  (sorry...its late and the Mt. Dew has worn off)

 

What types/combinations of command dials and tokens can be spent during the Command Phase?  Can I use a Navigate order on the command dial, and a Repair token at the same time?  Can I use a squadron command dial and a squadron token to move my squadrons?

 

Sorry if these seem like absurd questions from someone only just starting out, but as I said, the rules were a bit...nebulous.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

A capital ship can make 2 attacks per activation. This has to be out of 2 different hull zones unless a card states otherwise (Gunnery Teams and Advanced Gunnery). This can be against 1 ship per hull zone (even the same ship) or against each squadron in range of the color of its Anti Squadron armament (While box with blue shotgun blast). Each squadron is considered a new attack for the effects on that ship (Dominator, Warlord, etc) but still counts as one full attack no matter how many squadrons are in that arc and in range.

 

Hits and crits are not "Canceled" by shields. That is an X-Wing thing which is not used in armada. Dice are not canceled unless by an evade, you only get 1 crit effect shot. You resolve a crit effect at the Resolve Crit step after the defender spends Defense tokens. The standard Crit Effect is "The first damage card dealt is dealt face up" so as long as a card is dealt it will be face up.

 

400 points is a basic game. The tournament rules state 400.

 

You can use one of each command per activation. So a squadron token, repair token, a concentrate fire token, and a Navigate dial. Remember that you can combine a token with a dial to make it count as one use of that command.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I think I get it....I think.

So If I have a ship surrounded by squadrons...lets say one in each firing arc, and in range of anti-fighter weaponry, I can make a single attack against each squadron?  Can I make multiple anti-fighter attacks against multiple squadrons in a single firing arc?

 

Also, Im still a bit fuzzy on shields and hits/crits.  In my example above, (two hits, two crits, only two shields) do the two crits 'destroy' the shields, leaving only two regular hits to strike the hull?  Or do the two hits 'destroy' the shields leaving the two crits to deal two face-up damage cards?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I think I get it....I think.

So If I have a ship surrounded by squadrons...lets say one in each firing arc, and in range of anti-fighter weaponry, I can make a single attack against each squadron?  Can I make multiple anti-fighter attacks against multiple squadrons in a single firing arc?

 

Also, Im still a bit fuzzy on shields and hits/crits.  In my example above, (two hits, two crits, only two shields) do the two crits 'destroy' the shields, leaving only two regular hits to strike the hull?  Or do the two hits 'destroy' the shields leaving the two crits to deal two face-up damage cards?

Lets say you have 3 enemy squadrons in your front arc. If you shot out of your front arc at the squadrons you would roll a number of dice equal to your anti-squadron value (white box with blue scatter shot) at each squadron, one at a time. That counts as one arc.

 

Yes. Crits count as damage but having a critical icon just allows you to activate a critical effect. A crit effect is looks like

 

assault-concussion-missiles.png

 

that Black (crit): is a crit effect. It allows an effect. You only get one of those per attack unless a card says otherwise.

 

The basic critical effect is "The first card dealt is dealt face up"

 

You are thinking of X-Wing criticals which is a common occurrence. 

Edited by Lyraeus

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So no matter how many crits go through to the hull, I only receive the first card face up, and the rest face down?
And with your ACM example, should I roll a crit on a black die, I have the option of either dealing the crit as normal, or using the effect of the ACM's.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If there are four squads in a single firing arc, you can shoot all four of them with one hull zone attack.

2 hits and 2 crits is 4 damage with a crit. The standard crit effect is that the first hull damage card recieved is face up. The shields absorb 2 damage and leaves 2 damage to hit the hull. The standard crit effect resolves on the first card dealt.

If no hull damage was taken, the standard crit effect cannot resolve. You can only cancel crit dice with evade or scatter.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So no matter how many crits go through to the hull, I only receive the first card face up, and the rest face down?

And with your ACM example, should I roll a crit on a black die, I have the option of either dealing the crit as normal, or using the effect of the ACM's.

Yes.

 

The video goes over this. You get 1 crit effect per attack. Either the face up or the Assault Concussion Missiles, Assault Proton Torpedoes, Ion Cannon Batteries, Overload Pulse, etc.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Okay, but in what order do the hits and crits resolve?  In the example I have posted (2 normal hits, 2 crits, ship has 2 shields), can I negate the two crits with my shields, and thus only take 2 standard points of damage to the hull?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Okay, but in what order do the hits and crits resolve?  In the example I have posted (2 normal hits, 2 crits, ship has 2 shields), can I negate the two crits with my shields, and thus only take 2 standard points of damage to the hull?

Dosen't matter.

 

The septs of an attack are as follows:

 

Gather Dice from the Battery Armament for the attack pool

 

Roll attack pool

 

Add dice, spend accuracy, modify dice, etc

 

Defender Spends defense tokens, uses most defensive abilities (Evade goes here and you can wait and see before spending other defense tokens)

 

The Attacker selects their critical effect and resolves it. (Contain goes here on the basic crit effect only)

 

Total up damage. Each hit, and crit is 1 point of damage unless a card says otherwise. (brace happen here)

 

Deal Damage here (redirect happens here). If a damage card is dealt and you had selected the basic critical effect the first card dealt to a ship is dealt face up.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Okay, but in what order do the hits and crits resolve?  In the example I have posted (2 normal hits, 2 crits, ship has 2 shields), can I negate the two crits with my shields, and thus only take 2 standard points of damage to the hull?

 

Did you play X-wing? If so, forget everything from there.

 

1. Total your damage: in your case 2 (hit) + 2 (crits). At this stage it doesn't matter if you have crits or not.

2. Subtract shields: 4-2=2, so you've left with 2 dmg. You DO NOT negate individual dice results, just subtract from TOTAL damage.

3. NOW is the time to check if you had ANY CRITS in the pool of damage.

4. IF you had AT LEAST one crit to begin with, you may now resolve a Crit effect.

5. The DEFAULT crit effect is: DEAL THE FIRST DMG CARD FACE UP

6. Some upgrades let you do a different Crit effect INSTEAD of the default one. There's even one card that lets you resolve two effects, but that's not important.

 

To repeat: shields no NOT negate individual die faces, just TOTAL damage. If you started with AT LEAST one Crit, you get a Crit effect.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...