Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Tug McToots

Entangled Event card

Recommended Posts

When using the Interrupt 'Entangled' bounty hunter card, a few questions:

The card reads "when an opponent chooses a unit to strike, he must choose a different eligible unit to strike instead if able. Then, draw 1 card."

1). If the opposing player does not have another unit to strike, does he still leave his single unit focused after the interrupt is played, and unable to strike?

2) Who draws the 1 card at the end of the interrupt? The attacker or the person playing the interrupt?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

1) Entangled is played after an eligible unit is chosen to strike, not after it is focused to strike, so its effect resolves before a focus token is placed on the striking unit. If your opponent has another eligible unit, they must strike with one of them instead, and the original unit is not focused. If your opponent has no other eligible units, than the strike continues as normal. Entangled cannot be used to prevent a unit from striking by itself, it can only change the order in which your opponent's units strike.

 

2) "Then, draw 1 card" is a separate statement from the text that affects your opponent. You (the controller of Entangled) draw a card when it resolves.

 

Hope this helps!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Added information:

 

1. If you opponent cannot choose a different unit to strike with (ie only 1 participating unit), you can't play Entangled at all.  This is because you can only initiate effects if at least 1 independent part of the effect can resolve (see FAQ).  Drawing a card is not an independent part of the effect because it only happens if the first part resolves successfully.

 

2. You only draw 1 card if your opponent successfully chooses another unit to strike with.  If, for some reason, they are prevented from doing that (eg only other participating unit was Kanan, used his resource to play Counter Stroke, which you then canceled yourself with Jamming Protocols... Entangled can now attempt to resolve but opponent cannot choose another unit to strike with) you do not get to draw a card.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Added information:

 

1. If you opponent cannot choose a different unit to strike with (ie only 1 participating unit), you can't play Entangled at all.  This is because you can only initiate effects if at least 1 independent part of the effect can resolve (see FAQ).  Drawing a card is not an independent part of the effect because it only happens if the first part resolves successfully.

 

2. You only draw 1 card if your opponent successfully chooses another unit to strike with.  If, for some reason, they are prevented from doing that (eg only other participating unit was Kanan, used his resource to play Counter Stroke, which you then canceled yourself with Jamming Protocols... Entangled can now attempt to resolve but opponent cannot choose another unit to strike with) you do not get to draw a card.

 

I really don't like this ruling.

 

The card text says "Interrupt: When an opponent chooses a unit to strike, he must choose a different eligible unit to strike instead, if able. Then, draw 1 card."

If the wording "If Able" were left out, you would be unable to play this if the opponent is not able to choose another eligible unit. As it is, ALL conditions of the card are met.

a) The interrupt condition: The opponent chose a unit to strike

b) The "Choose another, if able" condition: The opponent chooses another unit, if able. They are not able, they do not choose another unit. Still satisfies the condition.

c) The "Then, draw a card" condition. If you can draw a card, do so.

(3.6) Initiation of Card Abilities In order to trigger a card ability, the possibility that at least some independent aspect of that card ability’s effect might successfully resolve must exist. (In other words, card abilities cannot be initiated just to pay the cost.) If, given the current game state, it is impossible for at least one aspect of the effect to resolve, the ability cannot be triggered.

 

It is possible for the "Choose another, if able" condition to resolve, because "if able" is in there. If it only said "Opponent must choose another unit." then it couldn't resolve.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You can not like is as much as you want (I personally don't like the change introduced with section 3.6 of the FAQ at all, but that ship has sailed), this is one that we've had a response from FFG posted in Jan 2015:

 

Question:
Can I use Entangled to draw 1 card if there is no other eligible unit to be chosen to strike?

Answer:
No

The "if able" applies to the opponent. This card was originally designed before the 3.6 ruling in the FAQ, so the "if able" clause was important to make sure to answer the question of "can this card be played if my opponent only has a single eligible unit?" The answer then was "yes," but you didn't get the card draw because the preceding effect did not resolve successfully (i.e. a different unit wasn't chosen, so it wasn't successful, so you didn't satisfy the necessary component of the "then" clause to draw the card).

Now, after the 3.6 FAQ ruling, you can't play the card at all if your opponent only has a single eligible unit able to strike. You can't change the game state as no independent aspect of the card can resolve. The "then" clause is tied to the successful resolution of the "choose a different eligible unit to strike" which your opponent is unable to do.

Any part of a card's ability that relies on a "then" clause to initiate relies on the preceding effect to resolve successfully. As such, you cannot consider effects that are part of "then" clauses for the purposes of determining if you can initiate a card ability because of entry 3.6 in the FAQ. The potential of a "then" clause to change the game state is entirely dependent on the successful resolution of a preceding effect. It has no independent potential to change the game state.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...