Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Wild-Duck

Voting on motions in Assembly

6 posts in this topic

If a motion is put forward to be voted on and no person puts forward a vote token, is it then upto the Chairman to "break the tie" or is the motion simply discarded?

By the way the rules are written it would seem that all ties are broken by the Chairman. My friends and I were split 50-50 on this, the arguement being that if  nobody voted for it, it did not merit being put forward, or that the Yes and No votes were tied at 0/0 so the the Chairman would break that tie. 

Anyone have any opinions or solutions?

 My last solution was that as the Chairman breaks all ties if there were a dispute on the rules that was split 50/50 then the person who was Chairman at the time would break the dispute with his vote. LOL.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I would say the Chairmen gets to put his vote to pass or fail the vote.

Think of it in terms of no other Baron stated they had a problem with the vote going either way, so they just left it up to the chairman to decide. Since he faced no opposition he is free to rule as he pleases on the matter, benefits of such a grand station.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 It is actually in the rules earlier that it states that the chairman breaks all ties, even when no one votes. 

 

Donzos. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

you can only cast a vote if you reveal a vote token. if your outstretched hand does not reveal a vote token then you cannot cast it.

the chairman breaks ties of votes. if no one votes there is no tie of no-votes, the agenda simply has not been voted on.

i.e if all members of the assembly reveal empty fists (ie no vote tokens )  then they cannot cast their vote or decision. so in effect there is no tie to break because no one actually voted. the agenda card is placed on the discard pile where it can be re-voted on during a private motion.

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

lastthai said:

Chair man break the tile

 

 

even it is 0 against 0  it still count as tile so chairman break them

 

 

see my post above for clarification

this is not a tie, no-one has voted in this example.  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0