Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
McFoy

R7-T1

Recommended Posts

The card reads:

 

Action: Choose an enemy ship at Range 1-2. If you are inside that ship's firing arc, you may acquire a target lock on that ship. Then, you may perform a free boost action.

 

Does the boost part have the same requirements as the target lock? I would imagine the range 1-2 part is required for it but given that it's separated I'm not so sure you need to be in arc? Or do you need to acquire the target lock to actually boost? Thoughts?

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If a ship equipped with R7-T1 is at Range 1–2 and inside the firing arc of an enemy ship, the following sequence occurs: the ship equipped with R7-T1 may acquire a target lock on the enemy ship. Then, the ship equipped with R7-T1 may perform a free boost action, even if it did not acquire a target lock on the enemy ship.

So, yes, you must be in the ship's firing arc to do either thing.

And yes, this card is poorly worded.

Edited by digitalbusker

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Being inside an enemy ship's firing arc at Range 1-2 is a condition for performing the R7-T1 Action.

 

However both parts of the Action are optional ( note: "you MAY acquire Target Lock .... you MAY perform a Free Boost Action....) 

 

So you can TL without boosting, and Boost without TL-ing or do both provided you do it in the order specified on the card  ...... you could even spend the Action to do neither if you really wanted to.

Edited by Funkleton

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The card is not poorly worded at all... the "then" is there for a reason...

You execute the first part then you execute the second. The second part can never happen if the first part did not happen... this is common language syntaxes. If the condition is not met, you can't try the first part so you'll never get past the "then".

If "condition", A then B is not something mysterious and never seen before in life.

Edited by muribundi

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The card is not poorly worded at all... the "then" is there for a reason...

You execute the first part then you execute the second. The second part can never happen if the first part did not happen... this is common language syntaxes. If the condition is not met, you can't try the first part so you'll never get past the "then".

If "condition", A then B is not something mysterious and never seen before in life.

But it's not "If [condition], A then B." It's "If [condition], A. Then, B."

Compare and contrast with Bossk crew, which is worded nearly the same way: "[Timing/condition], if [condition], A. Then B." Except in Bossk's case, the [timing/condition] applies to both A and B, but the [condition] only applies to A.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Nope, Bossk is exactly the same thing
 

Condition: After you perform an attack that does not hit.
A: If you are not stressed, you must receive 1 stress token
B: Assign 1 focus token to your ship and acquire a target lock on the defender.

The only real difference is the wording of the condition... because they want you to "fail" the action...
if they worded it like that: "Choose an enemy ship at Range 1-2 which you are inside its firing arc." You would have to check for each ship before doing the action, and this read really poorly...

Edit: In fact, the problem is more Bossk, according to normal language, the second part should be conditional to not being stressed... but let not confuse here... it is just a case of FFG deciding something on one side and something else on another...
Edited by muribundi

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

the faq clarifies that guy quite a bit.

 

You must be able to take the TL to get the boost, HOWEVER unlike normal TL actions you dont have to actually take it. I found that...interesting

Not quite. You don't have to be able to take the TL to get the boost. You must meet the initial qualifier which is being inside the firing arc of an enemy ship at Range 1-2. That's the requirement to be able to perform the R7-T1 Action.

 

This FAQ entry came about after a multi-page thread where the sentence structure and text on the card underwent an extensive autopsy. It was pulled apart and rearranged to make all sorts of different combinations where it could partially work.

One option someone suggested was that they only had to choose a ship at Range 1-2, then they could boost regardless of the firing arc restriction. Others, (myself included) considered the boost could only be taken if you took the TL first. In the end, FFG finally FAQ'd the droid and now you must be within arc and range to do either the TL or the boost or both.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...