Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
chilibreez

Reinforced Deflectors

Recommended Posts

The recent FAQ states that Reinforced Deflectors should now read as follows:

 

  “After defending, if you suffered a combination of 3 or more damage and critical damage during the attack, recover 1 shield (up to your shield value)"

 

Here's my question:  Does this mean that, in order for RD to trigger, the damage MUST be a combination of both regular damage and crits, or it CAN be a combination?  I've posed this question to other groups and the response that I've gotten is 'all they are saying is that it can be crits' but that's not what I'm reading. It says "... a combination of.... damage and critical damage..."     It doesn't say either or, or one or the other.  It says a combination of.  Am I reading/interpreting this wrong?  Thanks!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The recent FAQ states that Reinforced Deflectors should now read as follows:

 

  “After defending, if you suffered a combination of 3 or more damage and critical damage during the attack, recover 1 shield (up to your shield value)"

 

Here's my question:  Does this mean that, in order for RD to trigger, the damage MUST be a combination of both regular damage and crits, or it CAN be a combination?  I've posed this question to other groups and the response that I've gotten is 'all they are saying is that it can be crits' but that's not what I'm reading. It says "... a combination of.... damage and critical damage..."     It doesn't say either or, or one or the other.  It says a combination of.  Am I reading/interpreting this wrong?  Thanks!

I think it's a can be situation. The original wording, with a strict interpretation, was damage only. Crits didn't count. The errata clarifies the intent.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If you suffered a combination of 3 or more (damage and crit damage)

 

So, you receive 3 damage and 0 crit damage. Add those together and you get a combination of 3 or more (damage and crit damage).

 

Zero is a valid number to use in addition when combining things

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The recent FAQ states that Reinforced Deflectors should now read as follows:

 

  “After defending, if you suffered a combination of 3 or more damage and critical damage during the attack, recover 1 shield (up to your shield value)"

 

Here's my question:  Does this mean that, in order for RD to trigger, the damage MUST be a combination of both regular damage and crits, or it CAN be a combination?  I've posed this question to other groups and the response that I've gotten is 'all they are saying is that it can be crits' but that's not what I'm reading. It says "... a combination of.... damage and critical damage..."     It doesn't say either or, or one or the other.  It says a combination of.  Am I reading/interpreting this wrong?  Thanks!

A combination of damage and critical damage must exceed 3. So, where D=damage and C=Critical Damage, you end up with a formula XD+YC≥3 to proc RD. So, for instance, 3D+0C≥3, and RD procs

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...