Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
KtuluCaller

Chaos Beast abilities

Recommended Posts

Hi all, 

 

Just played for the first time with the Chaos Beasts, and a couple questions came up.  

 

Suppose the Master Chaos Beast uses a melee weapon of a hero for its attack (via its Morph ability):

 

  1. Does the target of the attack need to be adjacent to this Master Chaos Beast?  In other words, does the Ranged Attack icon on its card only apply when its attack does not use a melee weapon of a hero?
  2. Can it still use Sorcery to convert range that is rolled to damage?

Thanks!

Edited by KtuluCaller

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

1+2) Morph allows the chaos beast to copy ONLY the dice of the chosen figure. It does not copy type (range/melee) or any other abilities (reach, surge abilities, etc). That is, it always performs a ranged attack, and it always has access to its sorcery ability (and only the sorcery ability, unless some overlord card changes that). All morph does is assign a particular attack pool to the chaos beast.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks.  Yeah, I also see this on BGG:  https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1205209/chaos-beasts-morph-ability 

 

What threw me off was the "use" and the "figure's other abilities".  To me, abilities on a weapon are not the "figure's".  But then again, "just the dice" is pretty definitive.

 

“When this monster attacks, it uses the dice of a figure (overlord's choice) in its line of sight. If a hero is chosen, the overlord may choose which of the hero's equipped weapon to use. The monster cannot use any of the figure's other abilities, just the dice.”

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...