Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Tvboy

Companion activation clarification

8 posts in this topic

So after the regular Ugnaught Tinkerer uses its special action to create a junk droid token, that token has to wait until the beginning of the Ugnaught's next activation to activate and take actions correct? 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

No. Scrap Batallion says that it activates as-if part of the Ugnaught's group, and it enters the game ready, so it will activate after the Ugnaught's activation.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Technically it will be during the Ugnaught's activation since there is a timing window that you don't see after the second action is taken and before the next activation begins.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

There can only be one figure activating at a time.

 

There is still a group activation / figure activation distinction, although they normally merge with single-figure groups. All abilities (unless specifically referring to group activation) refer to figure activations, so it's easy to forget group activations.

 

The Ugnaught Tinkerer deployment group activates by each figure in that group activating in the order of the controller's choosing. Originally there is just the Ugnaught, who activates (figure activation). During Ugnaught's activation the Junk Droid appears. When the Ugnaught figure ends his activation the Junk Droid activates as-if the second figure of the Ugnaught's group activation.

Edited by a1bert

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hmm... Can you double-activate the junk droid by activating it first, then activating the ugnaught and respawning with Spot Weld, and then activating the new junk droid?

 

I would assume not - Spot Weld saying only "place the junk droid" implies there's no true respawn to reset the droid's state - but it's definitely vague. I feel like the companion rules could have been a little more thorough.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Apparently removing and placing with Spot Weld does not remove tokens nor ready the companion so the Junk Droid cannot activate twice during a single Ugnaught's activation, unless it manages to defeat itself (due to Bleeding or Parting Shot). (And then brought back with Spot Weld.)

 

I'm still wondering whether Scrap Batallion refers to a figure activation or to a group activation. (I.e. can the Junk Droid ready and activate before the Ugnaught or not.)

Edited by a1bert

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Scrap Battalion reads as follows: "The Junk Droid readies at the start of your activation. It activates as though it was part of your group and may use your surge abilities."

 

Spot Weld: Action- Place the Junk Droid companion in an adjacent space.

 

RRG pg. 10-11:

When the last figure of a group is removed from play, return the deployment card to the Imperial player's hand and that card can only be redeployed as an optional deployment.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0