Sign in to follow this  
MrFedExPDX

Advice for running an Adventure module or other pre made adventures.

I just got done running the beginner game adventure "Mountaintop rescue" and I am now going to attempt running " Lure of the lost" and just would like some advice/tips for running a set adventure.

1. Good tips for keeping players on track with the story and not getting story derailed by choices the PC's want to make that will completely change the story and leave me no where to go...

2. How much information to inform the players about that is going on in the story. I had the 1 person in my group who has played a lot of RPG's in the past warned me once on "information overload". example would be Me telling the PC's the NPC's stats that they are going up against.

3. Adjusting the story on the fly if it seems better? is this kosher at an RPG table when dealing with an adventure module?

I am still pretty new to this and would like some advice on how to run these type of pre made adventures in a fun/challenging ways for the PC's. I don't plan on running a pre made adventure everytime but would like any pointers any of you can throw my way on this subject would be HIGHLY appreciated.

Thanks everyone!!!! 

Firstly read the adventure again, then re-read it, the more familiar you are with the basic story and goals the easier it should be to guide the players back to the story if they stray too far.

Secondly the information you give the players should be reactive based on their actions, certainly don't give them any stats but do keep in mind what they can see describe the basics of the scene to them and from there let them ask questions and do perception checks to get more information.