Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Dlogue

Fire with no target

Recommended Posts

Just a few quick questions.

Can you fire if you don't have a target in range or arc, just to trigger an ability, like Garven's focus or get rid of blinded pilot?

If you numbers trying to K turn, do you still flip, or do you not get a chance to change direction since you didn't finish your move?

If I put a cannon on a ship that has range 2-3 and find myself at range 1 can I still fire my original weapon?

Thanks!!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Can you fire if you don't have a target in range or arc, just to trigger an ability, like Garven's focus or get rid of blinded pilot?

 

If you are using the Blinded Pilot crit from the TFA Core set, you don't need to attack to clear it. You just have to have been able to attack (no weapons disabled token, not on an asteroid, etc.) it doesn't matter whether or not you have a legal target.

The Blinded Pilot from the original Core set requires you to actually make an attack. 

Edited by WWHSD

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

Can you fire if you don't have a target in range or arc, just to trigger an ability, like Garven's focus or get rid of blinded pilot?

 

If you are using the Blinded Pilot crit from the TFA Core set, you don't need to attack to clear it. You just have to have been able to attack (no weapons disabled token, not on an asteroid, etc.) it doesn't matter whether or not you have a legal target.

The Blinded Pilot from the original Core set requires you to actually make an attack. 

 

 

That's a bit of a trick question there as there are those two differing answered based on the same information.

 

Garven still needs to have a target to attack if he wishes to spend his Focus during the attack and pass it to someone else.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Also in regards to bumping during a K turn, you still get the stress from a red k turn even though you did not complete the k turn.

 

That is true.  If you reveal a green maneuver you will still clear stress even if you bump another ship or obstacle and lose your perform action step.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In a landscape where you can spend a focus token to modify zero dice or acquire a target lock on a ship you've already target locked, I can see someone genuinely thinking you don't have to have a target in order to fire.  Thing is, those first two can fully resolve.  Rolling an attack on nothing, by the rules for performing an attack, can never resolve.  There's no way to compare results when you're attacking nothing.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

While we generally shorthand our way through it, the attack sequence laid down in the rules reference describes in detail what steps you need to perform, in what order, and what conditions must be met.

 

a quick read through of those steps makes it very clear that an attack can ONLY be performed when you have a legitimate target to perform the attack on.

 

Have a read through the first step  - declare target - and you'll see that without a valid target you cannot proceed beyond this step and therefore cannot perform an attack.

 

ATTACK

A ship can perform one attack when it becomes the active ship during the Combat phase. To perform an attack, the ship resolves the following steps in order:

1. Declare Target: The attacker may measure range to any number of enemy ships and check which enemy ships are inside his firing arc. Then the attacker chooses one of his weapons to attack with. Then he chooses one enemy ship to be the target and pays any costs required for the attack.

If attacking with a primary weapon, the target must be inside the attacker’s firing arc and at Range 1–3.

• If attacking with a turret primary weapon, the target must be at Range 1–3 but does not need to be inside firing arc.

• If attacking with a secondary weapon, the target must be inside the attacker’s firing arc (unless otherwise specified) and at the weapon range indicated on the weapon’s Upgrade card.

• If there is no valid target for the chosen weapon, or if the attacker cannot pay any costs required for the attack, the attacker may choose a different weapon and target.

• After a valid weapon and target are chosen and any indicated costs are paid, the target is considered to be the defender

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You need an enemy target to shoot.

If you bump, you don't finish the move and do not rotate 180.

You can still fire your primary even if you have a cannon. Unless you have the Putrid Er title on a yt 2400.

 

Was that a typo or a Freudian slip?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...