Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
AkodoGilador

Ward

Recommended Posts

According to the previews, Ward reads,

Take control of attached character.

Clearly, if you attach Ward to another player's character, you take control of it. However, what happens if Ward leaves play? There is no text that says, "Return the character to his or her owner's control," so the character remains under the control of the player who played Ward, right?

 

Alex

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

According to the previews, Ward reads,

Take control of attached character.

Clearly, if you attach Ward to another player's character, you take control of it. However, what happens if Ward leaves play? There is no text that says, "Return the character to his or her owner's control," so the character remains under the control of the player who played Ward, right?

 

Alex

The unofficial FAQ for True Steel says that when Ward is removed the character returns to it's original owners control.

 

http://www.cardgamedb.com/index.php/index.html/_/game-of-thrones/true-steel-faq-r1674#commentsStart

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The thing to recognize is that Ward is a continuous effect, and therefore required the continued presence of the attachment (the same way an "attached character gains +1 STR" attachment requires the continued presence of the attachment). So losing the attachment means that the effect is gone and control revers to whomever had control of the character before the attachment was put on the character.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have some doubts regarding Ward card.

 

1. Player A marshals non-unique character with printed cost 6 or less.

2. Player B marshals Ward card and takes control of that character using Ward card.

3. Can Player C take control of that character with a card Take the Black?

4. If he can, then what happens if Ward card is discarded?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

3. Yes. There's nothing special about Ward that stops Take the Black. (While not well defined in the rules, when there are multiple "take control" effects on the same character, the one applied last trumps any earlier ones.)

4. Nothing happens, because "Take the Black," which trumped Ward, is still in effect.

 

Now, swap 3 and 2:

1. Player A marshals a non-unique character with printed cost 6 or less.

2. Player C uses Take the Black to take control of it.

3. Player B marshals Ward to take control of Player A's character from Player C. (Yes, he can do this. Now Ward trumps Take the Black.)

4. What happens when Ward is discarded? (Control of Player A's character goes back to Player C - because Take the Black's effect is still active and was the last "take control" effect applied.)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...