Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
JediKnightAmoeba

Updated FAQ

Recommended Posts

So it has been mentioned many times that the community would like an updated FAQ.  Recently the idea of a petition was invited; this is actually an old idea.  As much as I would like an updated FAQ, I can understand not wanting to create one at this stage in the game.  We have had 5 years and 8 expansions since the FAQ was written.  Since it was written there have been countless issues in regards to newer expansions conflicting with older expansions as well as new conundrums arising out of the ashes....

 

Where would one start if compiling a FAQ?  A quick search through the Talisman rules questions will show you this is no easy task.

 

So, it is easy for us FANS that play the game quite a bit, ensconce ourselves in the game and notice these issues that will cause bickering at the table.  With seasoned gamers that are very used to black and white rules arguments get convoluted and slow the game down.  Just the verbiage of Talisman rules show you this is not to be a competitive game.....but still, most people want definitive answers.  So what we can do here is compile a list of all the issues that have been bugging us and give FFG a good starting point.  Sometimes an outside Point-of-View is the best possible answer to litigate an argument!

 

As we get a clear path of rules that could/should be in an FAQ I will edit this post.  Links to threads would be for the best so each person can read the details rather than go back and forth in this thread.  Let's see how this goes......   

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Perhaps someone has a good grasp about which questions have been debated the most and create a list of those issues. Then each of us forum users could send that list to ffg requesting answers and hinting at an updated faq. :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Here are some just off my head.

 

Can the Alchemist Character buy objects and turn them into gold, then use that gold to buy more objects in the same turn?

 

When a player loses a turn does it still count as a turn for the purposes of being turned into a toad? Also does the player who loses a turn still have a start of turn and an end of a turn?

 

What happens when a player is a Werewolf and its night when playing out the Battle Royale Ending?

 

What happens with the Feral Hunger spell when cast on a enemy that rolls two dice for their attack strength.

 

Can the Relic Card: Arnkell be used to teleport if the player has a cursed follower?

 

Can a character lose nothing if instructed to lose a Strength or a Craft if they have only 1 Strength or Craft token.

 

Is the Adventure deck and its discard pile reshuffled together if the Adventure Deck has no more card to draw from?

 

Can the Barbarian character can take objects-followers that have their own Spells and if so if he casts one of these spells can it be countered?

 

Can the Tavern Maid still use her “pick the number at the Tavern” ability when visiting Denizens at the Tavern space?

Edited by Uvatha

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Good idear, I'll get around to dig a few things up.
Meanwhile...

 

Can the Relic Card: Arnkell be used to teleport if the player has a cursed follower?

A.: No, you must ditch it, but you can not. No use.

 

Can a character lose nothing if instructed to lose a Strength or a Craft if they have only 1 Strength or Craft token?

A.: Whatever requirement to lose you can fulfill, you have to.

 

Is the Adventure deck and its discard pile reshuffled together if the Adventure Deck has no more card to draw from?

A.: If there is no card left in the "Adventure Deck", what exactly do you want to shuffle together with the discard pile?
   
    Besides, we already got an official answer thanks to tsuma534.
    Yes, you do reshuffle the exhausted Adventure Deck to draw more cards.

Edited by Lorinor

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Good idear, I'll get around to dig a few things up.

Meanwhile...

 

Is the Adventure deck and its discard pile reshuffled together if the Adventure Deck has no more card to draw from?

A.: If there is no card left in the "Adventure Deck", what exactly do you want to shuffle together with the discard pile?

   

    Besides, we already got an official answer thanks to tsuma534.

    Yes, you do reshuffle the exhausted Adventure Deck to draw more cards.

whoops meant to say is the Adventure discard pile reshuffled to make a new Adventure deck if there is no more Adventure cards to draw from?

 

Yep I know about what tsuma534 said but it would be good to get a official Official answer :).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yep I know about what tsuma534 said but it would be good to get a official Official answer :).

For one, I know that a good part of the questions we ask about Eldritch Horror are later included in a FAQ update.

It would be great if FFG could do the same with Talisman.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have another three:

 

1. What happens when a character lands on a space with The Reaper, The Werewolf, and a dragon token.

 

2. When is Tumbling Boulder discarded?

 

3. Can Reaper move through Tavern/Temple with Cataclysm board?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Can the Relic Card: Arnkell be used to teleport if the player has a cursed follower?


A.: No, you must ditch it, but you can not. No use.

 

Wrong!

 

Arnkell

 

Instead of moving normally, you may discard Arnkell to teleport to any space in the same Region. You must ditch any Followers before you move.

 

Cursed Followers

 

Some Objects and Followers have been twisted and tainted by dark powers and have the Cursed keyword. Cursed Objects and Followers must be taken by a character encountering them (even if the character is at his Object Carrying Limit) and cannot be ditched.

 

Cursed Objects and Followers may be discarded, stolen, and sold as normal.

 

CAN VS. CANNOT

 

In any instance where a card’s effect indicates that a character cannot perform an action or use an ability (such as casting a Spell or using an Object), the character cannot do so. In other words, the forbidding effects of cards override other abilities and effects.

 

In Summary

 

You may discard Arnkell to teleport and ditch all of your Followers. However, all Cursed Followers cannot be ditched and must remain with you!

Edited by talismanamsilat

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Can the Relic Card: Arnkell be used to teleport if the player has a cursed follower?

A.: No, you must ditch it, but you can not. No use.

 

Wrong!

 

Arnkell

 

Instead of moving normally, you may discard Arnkell to teleport to any space in the same Region. You must ditch any Followers before you move.

 

Cursed Followers

 

Some Objects and Followers have been twisted and tainted by dark powers and have the Cursed keyword. Cursed Objects and Followers must be taken by a character encountering them (even if the character is at his Object Carrying Limit) and cannot be ditched.

 

Cursed Objects and Followers may be discarded, stolen, and sold as normal.

 

CAN VS. CANNOT

 

In any instance where a card’s effect indicates that a character cannot perform an action or use an ability (such as casting a Spell or using an Object), the character cannot do so. In other words, the forbidding effects of cards override other abilities and effects.

 

In Summary

 

You may discard Arnkell to teleport and ditch all of your Followers. However, all Cursed Followers cannot be ditched and must remain with you!

Zonk, of course all Cursed Followers cannot be ditched and must remain with you must remember this.

Good one Mr Talismanamsilat.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

1. What happens when a character lands on a space with The Reaper, The Werewolf, and a dragon token.

 

Depends on the dragon token. Reaper and Werewolf are of no consequence here.

 

 

Can the Relic Card: Arnkell be used to teleport if the player has a cursed follower?

A.: No, you must ditch it, but you can not. No use.

 

Wrong!

 

Arnkell

 

Instead of moving normally, you may discard Arnkell to teleport to any space in the same Region. You must ditch any Followers before you move.

 

Cursed Followers

 

Some Objects and Followers have been twisted and tainted by dark powers and have the Cursed keyword. Cursed Objects and Followers must be taken by a character encountering them (even if the character is at his Object Carrying Limit) and cannot be ditched.

 

Cursed Objects and Followers may be discarded, stolen, and sold as normal.

 

CAN VS. CANNOT

 

In any instance where a card’s effect indicates that a character cannot perform an action or use an ability (such as casting a Spell or using an Object), the character cannot do so. In other words, the forbidding effects of cards override other abilities and effects.

 

In Summary

 

You may discard Arnkell to teleport and ditch all of your Followers. However, all Cursed Followers cannot be ditched and must remain with you!

 

How exactly did anyone come to this conclusion? - You just quoted yourself that cannot wins, so why would you allow to use the item?

That does not make sense. :huh:

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Lol. Ok basically it would be different if it said you must ditch all of your followers to use arnkell. It does not say that. It says discard it, then ditch all of your followers. However you CANNOT ditch cursed followers, and they hitch a ride. You must ditch your followers once arnkell is used, but you cannot.

Edited by Joker2016

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yep what Joker said. The ditching of followers is a side effect of using it.

 

Arnkell

 

"Instead of moving normally, you may discard Arnkell to teleport to any space in the same Region. You must ditch any Followers before you move".

 

Hench the full stop after Region in Arnkell's text.

 

And of course cannot overrides must because cursed followers cannot be ditched.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

1. What happens when a character lands on a space with The Reaper, The Werewolf, and a dragon token.

 

Depends on the dragon token. Reaper and Werewolf are of no consequence here.

Obviously I was talking about a dragon token matching current king.

And by of no consequence do you mean the character doesn't encounter them?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

1. What happens when a character lands on a space with The Reaper, The Werewolf, and a dragon token.

 

Depends on the dragon token. Reaper and Werewolf are of no consequence here.

Obviously I was talking about a dragon token matching current king.

And by of no consequence do you mean the character doesn't encounter them?

If you land on a space with a token matching the current king you encounter it. If it doesn't match you choose to encounter space or token.

Reaper and werewolf are of no consequence as you only encounter them if they land on you, not if you land on them.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You're right, I forgot about that. Well then:

 

1. What happens when a character lands on a space with The Harbinger and a dragon token matching current dragon king.

Roll a D6? 

 

Seriously though, I would have to say both in the order of the players choosing

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You're right, I forgot about that. Well then:

 

1. What happens when a character lands on a space with The Harbinger and a dragon token matching current dragon king.

Roll a D6? 

 

Seriously though, I would have to say both in the order of the players choosing

This is why we have thrown the Dragon rules away. We just play with the characters and the endings. Geeez but i would say you encounter both.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You're right, I forgot about that. Well then: 1. What happens when a character lands on a space with The Harbinger and a dragon token matching current dragon king.

Roll a D6?  Seriously though, I would have to say both in the order of the players choosing
This is why we have thrown the Dragon rules away. We just play with the characters and the endings. Geeez but i would say you encounter both.

Do you not use the dragon decks at all? They are my favorite part of the dragon and have some of the best cards, we played domain of dragons once and it was awesome. I would love a good way to incorporate these decks without fiddling with dragon tokens or tying it to movement die rolls.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You're right, I forgot about that. Well then: 1. What happens when a character lands on a space with The Harbinger and a dragon token matching current dragon king.

Roll a D6?  Seriously though, I would have to say both in the order of the players choosing
This is why we have thrown the Dragon rules away. We just play with the characters and the endings. Geeez but i would say you encounter both.
Do you not use the dragon decks at all? They are my favorite part of the dragon and have some of the best cards, we played domain of dragons once and it was awesome. I would love a good way to incorporate these decks without fiddling with dragon tokens or tying it to movement die rolls.
Yeh i meant the full dragon rules but the endings we do use, well we only use.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You're right, I forgot about that. Well then:

 

1. What happens when a character lands on a space with The Harbinger and a dragon token matching current dragon king.

 

You encounter the Harbinger. This conflict is resolved via the Special Ability Vs. Rules golden rule. The "must encounter" for the reigning dragon king's token is detailed only in rules, but the "must encounter" for the Harbinger is detailed on the Harbinger NPC card, which is considered a Special Ability/Effect.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

You're right, I forgot about that. Well then:

 

1. What happens when a character lands on a space with The Harbinger and a dragon token matching current dragon king.

 

You encounter the Harbinger. This conflict is resolved via the Special Ability Vs. Rules golden rule. The "must encounter" for the reigning dragon king's token is detailed only in rules, but the "must encounter" for the Harbinger is detailed on the Harbinger NPC card, which is considered a Special Ability/Effect.

 

You mean this:

 

Special Ability vs. Rules:In any instance where a special ability or effect is at a variance with the basic rules, the special ability or effect always overrides the rules.

 

Prob is the dragon kings tokens are not basic rules. They are expansion rules. But I do see your point and I too if put to the question would as well side with Harbinger over ranking dragon kings tokens. So you can do both or just Harbinger but best if just encounter Harbinger.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...