Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Matt Antilles

Concentrated Fire against Squadrons?

Recommended Posts

I did a search and couldn't find if this has been asked or answered. If you reveal a concentrated fire dial, and you do an anti-squadron attack, do you get to add a die to every squadron you attack or only one? We've been confused on this as it seems like it's not clearly defined in the rules. Thanks!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes, each attack against a Squadron is considered a separate attack for the purposes of card abilities.  This follows on to the assumption that you only get to modify the one set of dice rolling...  And it is not questioned anywhere.

 

 

Chalk up another time where I point out that "ATTACK" is used in the rules in two Separate, and completely different occasions...  Whereas wording such as "SALVO" and "ATTACK" would have been much better :D

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Okay, so on this...a purely superstitious question:

 

You have four or five squads in your arc. Lets say X1, X2, X3, and X4.  They all have 1 hull except for X1.  It has 2 hull.

 

Let's also imagine that the correct play is to concentrate fire on X1 to give you a chance to kill it with your measly 1 blue die.

 

Here's the question: Do you go through all the other squads first and then Concentrate Fire on X1?  Or do you first shoot and concentrate fire on X1 and then the other shots?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

My thoughts would extend to which of those Squadrons I wanted to die the most...  He gets the ConFire.

I can't think of a situation where I would have 4 squadrons of equal value to me dead...  And even if it were exactly as described...  In a vacuum...  I'd probably attack Squad 1 first just to see what I roll...  If it was an ACC or CRIT, I'd probably not care and save the Confire for something I can kill...

 

If I kill the other 3 with the first die and waste the confire at that point?  So be it.  I've already wasted the ConFire by not using it against a ship.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

...  Honestly, I think the single biggest Nose-Rub in that instance is the fact that the overwhelming majority of attacks against Squadrons are Blue Dice attacks...  So there are no Blanks...  There are Crits and ACCs...

 

WHICH YOU GENERALLY WANT WHEN YOU'RE SHOOTING AT AN EFFING SHIP YOU LOUSY BLUE DICE I SWEAR I'M GOING TO PULVERISE ON OF YOU WITH A HAMMER IN FRONT OF THE OTHERS TO MOFF TARKIN IT A LITTLE AND LET FEAR KEEP THE OTHERS IN LINE....

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

One of the best reasons to CF a squadron is to potentially drive an extra point through on a squadron with Brace, or fish for an accuracy against Scatter.

Here's a thought: Raider 1 with Impetuous and Ordnance Experts. You come up against a Jan ball momentarily locked down by no squadron activations and double arc Jan. Imperious activates first.

Step one: attack every other squadron first and use up her Braces. There is a high probability you either push through extra damage on the squadrons or Jan spends all of her defense tokens.

Step 2: Second shot on Jan! Use your CF dial here. Depending on her previous strategy, she either braces it and lets damage through on the other squadrons or she keeps the brace for herself.

Step 3: Impetuous! If Jan is already dead, you have a solid chance to kill or cripple another squadron. If she isn't, 1 point of damage should kill her. Jan dies and the remaining squadrons no longer have her benefit.

Edited by thecactusman17

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...