Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Inquisitorsz

Slow to Draw + Parting Shot

Recommended Posts

Since we've now properly covered the stun vs parting shot question....

See here: https://community.fantasyflightgames.com/topic/217971-stun-to-prevent-parting-shot/

FFG has been so kind to throw another interrupt into the mix.

 

So on Greedo, it says "When you declare an attack, the target may interrupt to preform an attack targeting you". 

 

Presumably there's no reason this wouldn't trigger off a parting shot. 

So now we have an interrupt attack within another interrupt attack. 

 

Greedo declares attack

Figure A interrupts to perform attack against Greedo

Figure A's attack brings Greedo to zero health

Greedo triggers Parting Shot

Greedo declares target of Parting Shot (lets say Figure A again but it could be someone else)

Figure A attacks Greedo again. 

 

Now here's where the fun starts. I don't think Figure A can do any more damage.... since he's already at zero health. Can you still do damage even if it doesn't remove health from a target? 
Can this second Slow Draw attack trigger effects such as stun, blast, cleave (obviously recover is OK)?

If yes, then this attack would fully resolve before Parting Shot fully resolves, thus contrary to the previous example, a stun here could stop Greedo's parting shot. 
Except that he's already started the attack.... and Stun prevents you from "attacking". What happens if you're already mid attack? 

 

Depending on the result of the above questions.... The second slow draw is resolved (potentially including blast/cleave/etc, then Greedo's parting shot (if any) is resolved, the original Slow Draw is resolved (except there's now no target because Greedo is now defeated), but conditions such as blast and cleave would still happen (potentially twice). 

Point is.... it's a stupidly weird interaction, probably requires clarification and really should have been avoided in the first place. Perhaps by something as simple as saying that parting shot can't trigger a Slow to Draw attack. 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The RRG does state that "A figure cannot suffer DMG in excess of its Health. Any DMG over this amount has no effect." So I guess you wouldn't be able to trigger anything except recover off that second Slow to draw attack. 

 

That probably resolves all my issues, but it's still a silly interaction. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If Greedo suffers damage equal to his health from an attack interrupt (Slow on the Draw) from the target, he performs Parting Shot and with the errata to Parting Shot ("Then you are defeated") is defeated afterwards. The Greedo figure is removed from the map and can't continue the original attack.

 

If Greedo is stunned on the Slow on the Draw attack triggered from Parting Shot, it may not prevent Parting Shot anyway, because the attack of Parting Shot has already started to resolve by declaring a target. (Edit: Although suffering damage from the attack if he has suffered damage upto his Health already does not seem possible to me ... And to assign stunned requires that the target suffered damage from the attack.)

Edited by a1bert

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yeah it looks like attacking a figure while it's performing parting shot figure will never trigger keywords that require the target to suffer damage, because a figure cannot suffer damage in excess of its health.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

A figure can't suffer damage in excess of it's health. So the only thing that can be triggered during another attack is maybe a recover or something like Leia's surge ability. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...