Jump to content
Zszree

Committing Force Dice

Recommended Posts

As far as the "can activate upgrades multiple times unless specified otherwise," I'm probably thinking back to the FaD Beta, where the Force powers were changed so that rather than the old EotE/AoR default of "can only trigger once unless says otherwise" the rules got changed to "can trigger multiple times unless says otherwise."

 

However, if you look on page 281 of your Force and Destiny core rulebook, you'll see a section called "Activating Basic Powers and Upgrades of a Force Power Multiple Times."  Second sentence cites that unless the upgrade specifically says otherwise, then the default assumption is that it can be activated multiple times, provided you have the resources to do so.  The second paragraph does mention that most basic powers and upgrades should already list if they can or can't be activated multiple times, but obviously they've missed a few.

 

Since the Control Upgrades in Enhance for increasing Brawn and Agility don't say "can only trigger once," then per the above, you could assign multiple Force dice, just so long as doing so doesn't push the characteristic over a 6.

You're first assessment is indeed correct. I can activate a power multiple times unless stated otherwise. Page 282 in FaD states that one cannot benefit from two "copies" of an ongoing effect. It would be pretty great though if I could be a brawn 1 weakling with five force dice to throw around and become brawn 6.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

As far as the "can activate upgrades multiple times unless specified otherwise," I'm probably thinking back to the FaD Beta, where the Force powers were changed so that rather than the old EotE/AoR default of "can only trigger once unless says otherwise" the rules got changed to "can trigger multiple times unless says otherwise."

 

However, if you look on page 281 of your Force and Destiny core rulebook, you'll see a section called "Activating Basic Powers and Upgrades of a Force Power Multiple Times."  Second sentence cites that unless the upgrade specifically says otherwise, then the default assumption is that it can be activated multiple times, provided you have the resources to do so.  The second paragraph does mention that most basic powers and upgrades should already list if they can or can't be activated multiple times, but obviously they've missed a few.

 

Since the Control Upgrades in Enhance for increasing Brawn and Agility don't say "can only trigger once," then per the above, you could assign multiple Force dice, just so long as doing so doesn't push the characteristic over a 6.

You're first assessment is indeed correct. I can activate a power multiple times unless stated otherwise. Page 282 in FaD states that one cannot benefit from two "copies" of an ongoing effect. It would be pretty great though if I could be a brawn 1 weakling with five force dice to throw around and become brawn 6.

 

 

I think we have cleared this with Sam already and posted this in two different topics. Committing force dice in that way counts as one effect and not as stacking multiple copies of the effect. There is an example with raising agility by 3 points from Sam. Though as you mentioned it a little wonky as we are back to that Page 282 in FaD. Honestly, I can not wait for that FaD reprint and I am tempted to actually wait for that. ;-)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Where exactly does it state that an action is needed in order to commit force dice? I am away from my book at the moment.

By default, activating any aspect of a Force power is an action, whether you're rolling Force dice or just committing them.  This is in the section discussing activating a Force power, but prior to discussing committing Force dice.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Allowing a character to increase their characteristic more than once makes the rest of that tree a little lackluster.

Why commit a force die and add another force die to those specific skills with control upgrades, when you could just commit two force dice?

Ability die > Force die mathematically, right?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
6 hours ago, culsandar said:

Ability die > Force die mathematically, right?

Ability die = 5/8 success + 5/8 advantage

Force die = 2/3 chance of success or advantage without spending destiny/conflict, 2/3 chance of success or advantage with spending destiny/conflict.

So in 24 rolls:

Ability die = 15 success + 15 advantage

Force die with no destiny/conflict spent = 16 success or advantage, user's choice.

Force die with being happy to spend destiny/conflict = 32 success or advantage, user's choice.

Personally I think Force die is almost always better, other than when you want both success and advantage and have no destiny points. If you have destiny points and are willing to suffer conflict, then they are always at least 1 success or advantage, and you can choose which after rolling and seeing which you need.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It also gives you a lot of flexibility if you have other force powers that you might want to be able to use. You can boost that one important stat, or you can have the option of adding a force die to a whole bunch of skills and your core Lightsaber ability (say Draw Closer for example).

So I'd say it's all about giving you options.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

A little bit of tread necromancy but I think my question is related to this one.

Control: Increase Hull Trauma from the Manipulate Force tree allows you to commit force dies to increase the hull of your vehicle. So let's assume I have used 2 Force rating and increased my hull by 6. What happens after that exactly? Does that hull remain until the end of the combat? In a situation in which my Ship is at 5 Hull remaining and I uncommit the Force dies does it breaks apart? Are those destroyed first (like Temporary health levels on many systems)? If so is the Force Rating free to use again? And if so - can you recommit again?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If your Vehicle was suffering more than its normal Hull Threshold when you uncommitted your Force dice (for any reason) then the ship immediately stops working and suffers a Crit. It hasn’t blown up unless you roll 151+ on that Crit. So your Systems are all down, no power, only very minimal life support, your out of the encounter.

If you are somehow able to recommit the Force dice to bring the Hull Trauma Threshold back up above the current HT then the ship immediately starts working again, although you would still have that Crit you suffered.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...