Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
X Wing Nut

cant find the rule

Recommended Posts

not sure if this is true or not but im sure I read in the rules some where that if the empire move ships into a system where there is only a transport the rebel player can retreat straight away because it has no attack dice.

 

is this true or am I seeing things

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I don't recall seeing anything like that. The combat round comes before the chance to retreat, so I would say no. It would be thematically incorrect as well. In ESB, they used ion cannons and x-wings to protect the transports. So I think one round of one-sided combat is imminent. If it survives the first volley, then it can escape.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

not sure if this is true or not but im sure I read in the rules some where that if the empire move ships into a system where there is only a transport the rebel player can retreat straight away because it has no attack dice.

 

is this true or am I seeing things

 

Is it possible to edit the title of your thread?  Titles like "Can't find the rule" are completely useless to someone browsing for help.  Put something that indicates what rule you are asking about, like "Can a lone transport retreat before combat?"

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

not sure if this is true or not but im sure I read in the rules some where that if the empire move ships into a system where there is only a transport the rebel player can retreat straight away because it has no attack dice.

 

is this true or am I seeing things

 

Is it possible to edit the title of your thread?  Titles like "Can't find the rule" are completely useless to someone browsing for help.  Put something that indicates what rule you are asking about, like "Can a lone transport retreat before combat?"

When fishing its best to use the right bait

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Why are transports forced to retreat?

 

Rules Reference pg 04 Combat:

IV Next Round: If both factions still have units in the same theater (space or ground), they resolve another combat round...

 

It goes on to say that structures and DSUC are destroyed if they are alone in that theater with opposing units, but there is no mention of transports.

 

I get it that transports have no offensive capabilities in the game, but shouldn't they be allowed to stay in combat as long as the Rebel player chooses (or as long as they can withstand the beating)?

For example: The Rebels send 2 transports full of ground units to a system with a single TIE and several Imperial ground units. The transports should be able to sustain the TIE's attacks for a few combat rounds to provide a retreat option for the ground units if the ground combat goes south. The transports even have a chance of winning the space battle by dealing damage via tactic cards. (Which also works thematically since the GR-75 transports do have some limited offensive weapons)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

found the Rule bottom of page 5

 

During the retreat step, if the only Rebel ships in the
combat are Rebel Transports, they must retreat or they
are immediately destroyed

 

 

Why are transports forced to retreat?

 

Rules Reference pg 04 Combat:

IV Next Round: If both factions still have units in the same theater (space or ground), they resolve another combat round...

 

It goes on to say that structures and DSUC are destroyed if they are alone in that theater with opposing units, but there is no mention of transports.

 

I get it that transports have no offensive capabilities in the game, but shouldn't they be allowed to stay in combat as long as the Rebel player chooses (or as long as they can withstand the beating)?

For example: The Rebels send 2 transports full of ground units to a system with a single TIE and several Imperial ground units. The transports should be able to sustain the TIE's attacks for a few combat rounds to provide a retreat option for the ground units if the ground combat goes south. The transports even have a chance of winning the space battle by dealing damage via tactic cards. (Which also works thematically since the GR-75 transports do have some limited offensive weapons)

 

It is funny that if you only have 2 transports in a system the empire can move in and you resolve combat and play tactics cards but in the situation you describe above I would like to have the choice as to when I could retreat my ships tho. that way I could finish attacking the ground troops on a subjugated system then retreat my forces to use else where. 

 

I can understand why the have the rule if it wasn't there then the situation above would could also delay the game.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The transports should be able to sustain the TIE's attacks for a few combat rounds to provide a retreat option for the ground units if the ground combat goes south. The transports even have a chance of winning the space battle by dealing damage via tactic cards. (Which also works thematically since the GR-75 transports do have some limited offensive weapons)

The same holds true for Structures which also have an auto-lose condition - be that thematically laid at the feet of point defence equipment, last few crewmen or booby traps etc. I suspect the reason for this is simply time. We have run some test battles with transports and structures and they near inevitably lose, but quite frequently do end up taking an inordinate amount of time to process a battle to conclusion - particularly true for structures with their heavy damage absorbance. Therefore I conclude that they did the same in playtesting and decided that cost/benefit of the rare event of the unarmed items winning a battle was simply not frequent enough justify expending the amount of time required to take every such fight to conclusion and introduced both these rules to cut the battles to a sharp conclusion.

 

Nothing to stop you using a house rule for taking those rulings out if both sides want to but to be fair you need to decide in advance of any given game and then do it for every such fight whatever, and accept the time loss.

Edited by myrm

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...