Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
sparetomato

Admiral Ozzel action card

Recommended Posts

Hi,

Played my first game yesterday and a confusing situation came up with Ozzel. His solo action card "Catch them by surprise" says:

Assignment

Place this leader in any system. Then move imperial units in adjacent systems to this system. If there are rebel units, resolve a combat"

Isn't this just the same as the normal action of placing a leader in a system?

If so, what is the point of this card?

Thanks :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You play it during the Assignment phase and it resolves during the Assignment phase. This gives the Imperial player a rare opportunity to get the jump on the Rebels, who get to take the first action during the Command Phase.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You play it during the Assignment phase and it resolves during the Assignment phase. This gives the Imperial player a rare opportunity to get the jump on the Rebels, who get to take the first action during the Command Phase.

Exactly. The Catch them by suprise card lets you... catch... them... by... suprise.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It's a very common mistake to misunderstand the timing of the Action cards. When something has the heading Assignment, it's resolved during the Assignment phase, not during the Command phase. So when you're putting your leaders on missions or leaving them in the pool, at that time, you get to trigger that mission.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm I right in assuming that "Assignment" action cards cannot be opposed as they are not missions?

They are not missions. The action card being discussed mirrors a system activation. It's in every way an activation, except for the timing. Activations cannot be opposed either.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

To add to what KoalaXav said, if Ozzel's action card, which we have already established resolves during the Assignment phase, results in a combat, the Rebel player has the option of bringing in a leader to assist in the battle as per the normal combat rules.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...