Sign in to follow this  
Joe Boss Red Seven

Is this a MINIATURES Game or a CARD Game?

How do you guys feel about it? The card combo thing and the MAX-Meta gets tedious, but it is also how the game was designed to work...

I think most would agree that the glorious models are why people buy the product. But then they find the cards almost overwhelming and can (for some people) kinda kill the fun of other less fiddly miniatures games.

is the basic play experiance getting to fat or has it become far more advanced? 

I love this games as most veterans here do, but if I was a rookie I would just toss my hands in the air and play the ships I love most and forget trying to learn the combos until i had months with the core game play. Many of the arguments on this forum come from the card-talk.

PEW-Boom?

:lol:

I still consider myself a rookie since I only play my roommates. The cards can be overwhelming at first but they aren't so overwhelming that it ruins the fun. Of course, none of us are using Meta build (one guy is using 3 A-wings, the other a hodge podge of imperial builds, and I prefer X-wings and the Falcon) so we may be the exception.

If it wasn't a good miniatures game it wouldn't matter about the cards.  Because the miniatures are good, in time, people will become card carrying miniature players.  To be honest, I wonder what percentage of people buy a core set and a Millenium Falcon and play some games without ever setting foot inside a "gaming store" or coming to the FFG forums?

It's a miniatures and cards game.

Also, the only way someone could possibly be intimidated by the variety of cards is if he's a fresh player looking to dive straight into competitive play. There is zero pressure outside of that, and proxying solves any potential issues with card acquisition.

In short, I don't see a problem.