Sign in to follow this  
LittleOrc

Escape from Dul Guldur

This is really hard! I have played it 3 times now with my husband and we always loose. We have not got past the 1st card!

Here is what we are taking hero wise:

Legolas

Denothor

Glorfindel

Theodred

Eowyn

Aragorn

Also you have to randomly loose a character which is 'captured' argh. What are we doing wrong! This is my rant post!

Hi my name is Kassie and I'm new to the game, we just bought the core set and we really enjoy it. Im a massive Tolkien fan :D

Since you are new to the game, there is no way you will be able to win Dol Guldur with Core Set only. It is a very challenging quest even for very experienced players with big card pool.

I would propose to stick on the first two, especially Anduin (2nd Quest) which is a good one and when you feel comfortable with it start buying AP if you like the game. I believe that since you are Tolkien fun you will love it  :)

You're probably not doing anything wrong. While I disagree with the above poster - I know you *can* beat the scenario with just the core (although it's much easier if you have more copies of core cards, a second core), it's quite a challenge. It's also slightly easier the more players you add, as the 'penalty' of losing a hero is mitigated by a larger hero pool, and the penalty of the damage caused by the objectives is mitigated by the same (although the 'penalty' of being able to play only one Ally is amplified - you can build your decks to reduce the emphasis on multiple cheap allies).

If you're looking for some pointers on beating it, you could check out one of the many 'progression series' videos where people tackle the scenarios in the order they were released, with only the cards available at the time. Here's an example (although they use cards from multiple cores - you could consider printing up proxies to try the decklists they suggest).