Sign in to follow this  
masterchief7390

how to create a Superman?

I've got some experience with the saga edition of star wars rpg, but I'm new to FFG. However, I am excited about getting into it. I've got an idea for a campaign that I think the players would really enjoy, but I'm not really sure how to pull it off with this system and I'm hoping for some helpful tips.

I'd like to make a story roughly equivalent to Superman in the Man of Steel. They would get to create their characters like normal and decide skills, talents, etc. The twist is that I would have a secret list of their super powers and actual stats like super strength and toughness. As the game progresses, they would quickly realize that they're not ordinary. The focus of the campaign would become learning how to be hero, dealing with public perception, etc. How should I go about implementing these kind of ideas without breaking the game? Although I want them be powerful, I can't put them in a spot where they feel like they don't need to roll the dice anymore or that they can do anything. I need to have some kind of definable limitations and weaknesses. I've never played any other rpg besides the star wars ones, so I'm not sure how they balance this, and I actually do want this to be in the star wars universe.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

p.s. I have all three FFG Star Wars core rulebooks.

so, when players roll for their skills, their innate characteristics (ex: Brawn) factor into the roll.

Have you thought about how things like super strength will manifest into their rolls?

For example, if a character has Brawn 3 and Athletics 2, his normal skill check for jumping a gap would be YYG.

But if he had super strength (or super jump, or whatever), would you hand him extra dice to roll, or tell him to swap out the green with a yellow and wait for him to figure out why? 

Was curious to know how you'd implement this mechanically.