Sign in to follow this  
Panda72

"Saving" a game

So, I just started playing about a month ago.  On a couple of occasions now I've had a game run very long as we get used to new ships/rules/etc.  Unfortunately I'm playing on my kitchen table and have to clean up the game mid-session.  Are there any "best practices" on how to save the state of the game so we can put everything back later and resume?  Obviously, it's just family and close friends, so I want to be accurate, but if I'm off by a couple millimeters no one is going to panic.  

I tried laying out some rulers and taking pictures once, and it worked, but not great.  This time I'm playing with Epic ships on a 6x3 play area and there's just way too many tokens, card, ships, etc. to accurately save this way.  

Any thoughts?

You could stick down some masking tape on the edge of each ship base, and write which ship it denotes. As long as they're all uniform (tape always on the right edge of the base, for example), then setting back up again should be nothing more than lining up bases with the tape marks. It'll keep the positions and headings perfect, and it won't disturb setting for dinner. Though it may look a bit prophetic if the salt is lined up with the tape that says Omega Leader...

Masking tape with the fighter name, hitpoints and/or tokens written on it is the best solution.

But honestly I' d skip saving the game and introduce the 75 minutes time limit into the 100p-dog-fighting games. The decision making and the games will run smoother with the added pressure.

It also prevents games from dragging on and will give you chances for another "go" that evening.

6x3 I'm not sure about....

3x3 I do have an idea though:

Move the table.....

What I mean by that is get hold of a 3x3 piece of chipboard.  Measured up accurately it'll also save you the trouble of marking out the edges of the play area.  (since they'll be defined by the edge of the board.)