Sign in to follow this  
masterchief7390

Help creating arch-villains (Sidious and Abeloth)

Hello,

I've played the Star Wars rpg off and on for several years now. I've got some experience with the Saga Edition, but I decided to try to make the jump to Fantasy Flight's version. I'm looking forward to playing the game, but I'd also like to start dabbling in character creation. Me and my whole group are still wrapping our heads around the differences in the two systems. I said all that to say this: We're taking turns Game-mastering and I want to start preparing for my turn now by creating the characters I need and testing them in staged encounters so that I can familiarize myself with subtleties of the game in my spare time. In this way, I hope to know my arch-villains inside and out so that I'm perfectly prepared for the players and I don't give them a villain too overpowered or too underpowered. I'm hoping to use Darth Sidious (RotS style) and Abeloth (FotJ) as inspiration for my arch-villains. Since I'm still going over the rules myself, I honestly wouldn't even know what skills, talents, etc. they ought to have. Also, the fact that there are no "character levels" seems to be a good move, but also leaves me wondering how much Experience they ought to have. I hope this isn't too much to ask, but I'd sure appreciate it if someone could share some ideas or tell what their builds on these characters are, or even just some tips on how to go from learning the new system to becoming a game-master.

Thanks! :)

P.S. I have all 3 Fantasy Flight core rulebooks.

If you have the F&D core, in the adversary chapter, there's a part about Inquisitors. It has a list of options so GMs can custom make their own Nemesis. Also, the Edge of the Empire GM kit has some advice for making nemeses. And, in general, every Nemesis in the books can be used as the basis for a primary antagonist.