Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Pheznik

Fleet Ambush

Recommended Posts

Closer Distance.  Not Better.

It breaks the Fleet up.  If they were relying on having all of their ships hit you at the same time, it won't happen now.

If you are Long Ranged, it can put the enemy right where you want them, straight up.

 

The Ambush Area itself is also very small.  You can cram it full of obstacles and make their life immediately miserable.



Is it a straight up objective easy to game?  No, no it is not.  But it has the potential to be breaking.

For example.  Set up right, and you can have a Wave of Bombers hit them almost immediately.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

OR the ambushed fleet hits YOU with a wave of bwings.... As they go first ;)

 

 

Yes, that is going tobe the risk.

Fleet Ambush is what I refer to as a "Rewardless" Objective.  It itself won't guarantee to give you any points over something else.  However, it is an objective that will shape the choice of objectives...

If I'm player 2, and I have a BUNCH of Star Destroyer -I Variants, all close Range, All ready to get into Close Brawl and Beat the Snot out of someone.... ...  You as First Player better have a plan before selecting that Objective...  Which means you'll start looking at other objectives, ones which could be bigger risk/reward, or perhaps provide me a benefit that I have planned on, but you have not...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Page 10, RRG, "Setup Area"


Setup Area

The setup area is the region of the play area in which ships, squadrons, obstacle tokens, and objective tokens are placed during setup.

 

The setup area ... is the 3' x 4' area in the center of the play area.

 

 

 

 

Which means the AMBUSH Zone is Distance 5 from any of those edges.  Which effectively makes the Setup Area a 1' x 2' Area in the very Center of the Table (as Distance 5 is essentially 12")

 

 

 

Assuming this is a 3'x6' Table, the BLUE area is the Setup Zone, the ORANGE area is the Ambush Zone.

 

SetupZone_II.jpg

Edited by Drasnighta

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Do not underestimate the power of Fleet Ambush - when it comes to gaining an advantage during setup, this is objective is a blast (unfortunately it can sometimes backfire spectacularly!)

yes it can, hopefully you have it in your world cup list...

My raiders like to be close...

Edit: of course this only applies in the unlikely event we meet...

Edited by clontroper5

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

Do not underestimate the power of Fleet Ambush - when it comes to gaining an advantage during setup, this is objective is a blast (unfortunately it can sometimes backfire spectacularly!)

yes it can, hopefully you have it in your world cup list...

My raiders like to be close...

Edit: of course this only applies in the unlikely event we meet...

 

 

I so like Raiders when they go "pop"! :D

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Always brings a smile to my face when my opponent brings Fleet Ambush against my B-wings. :D Popped an AF2 flagship on the first activation of the game the other day with Yavaris and her wing...

Of ALL the objectives, Fleet Ambush is the one I'll never put in a competitive list. After watching Clontroopers fleet it'll stay neatly stored.

It has seemed, more often than not, that it is 2nd player that is getting ambushed.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This is a very fun and interesting objective. I had the honour of being ambush, so I put my Gunnery teamed Dominator as far towards my opponents as I could. Since I was first player, I activated the Dominator first. He had the honour of one-shotting not one, but two different badly placed Nebulons during the games first activation. My opponent (who was very new to the game and didn't realize that the side of Nebulans are extremely fragile) instantly gave up. I do not blame him.

Edited by Viper Jr.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

A friend and I talked about ambush last game...

1. Does squadrons must be placed following the odd-pair sequence?

2. If a player has less ships than the other, does he wait until all the other player's ships are deployed to start deploying the squadrons?

3. Could the squadrons be deployed at distance 1-2 of an ambushed ship but out of the ambush zone?

I think I remember something like No-Yes-Yes but I don't play this objective frequently so I forget it easily.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

1. Players deploy normally - except they must do ships before squads.

 

So if you have 4 ships and 5 squads you must do SHIP - SHIP - SHIP  SHIP - 2 SQUAD - 2 SQUAD - 1 SQUAD

 

2. No. He deploys normally - except he must do ships before squads. Once he's out of ships, he starts with squads, deploying them by pairs.

 

3. Yes. Only the ships are bound by the ambush zone.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

1. Players deploy normally - except they must do ships before squads.

 

So if you have 4 ships and 5 squads you must do SHIP - SHIP - SHIP  SHIP - 2 SQUAD - 2 SQUAD - 1 SQUAD

 

2. No. He deploys normally - except he must do ships before squads. Once he's out of ships, he starts with squads, deploying them by pairs.

 

3. Yes. Only the ships are bound by the ambush zone.

Thanks but one thing still no clear for me. The squadrons could be place at distance 1-2 from an ambushed ship even if we are not in an odd deployment round? I think yes.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

1. Players deploy normally - except they must do ships before squads.

 

So if you have 4 ships and 5 squads you must do SHIP - SHIP - SHIP  SHIP - 2 SQUAD - 2 SQUAD - 1 SQUAD

 

2. No. He deploys normally - except he must do ships before squads. Once he's out of ships, he starts with squads, deploying them by pairs.

 

3. Yes. Only the ships are bound by the ambush zone.

Thanks but one thing still no clear for me. The squadrons could be place at distance 1-2 from an ambushed ship even if we are not in an odd deployment round? I think yes.

 

 

Yes.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
2. No. He deploys normally - except he must do ships before squads. Once he's out of ships, he starts with squads, deploying them by pairs.

 

Interesting.  I have only ever seen it played that both players have to finish deploying all ships before either player starts deploying squadrons.  That is, all ships are deployed before any squadrons are deployed.

 

Players take turns deploying fleets as normal, but must deploy all ships before deploying any squadrons.

 

Almost exactly the same kind of verbal ambiguity as XI7, in fact.  Really wish FFG would work on the specificity of their cards... >.>

Any other opinions on this?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

2. No. He deploys normally - except he must do ships before squads. Once he's out of ships, he starts with squads, deploying them by pairs.

 

Interesting.  I have only ever seen it played that both players have to finish deploying all ships before either player starts deploying squadrons.  That is, all ships are deployed before any squadrons are deployed.

 

Players take turns deploying fleets as normal, but must deploy all ships before deploying any squadrons.

 

Almost exactly the same kind of verbal ambiguity as XI7, in fact.  Really wish FFG would work on the specificity of their cards... >.>

Any other opinions on this?

 

 

Players.  Plural.  Not Ambushing.

 

Deploy your Ships first.  Then your Squadrons.

 

If you had to "wait for you enemy to finish deploying Ships" before deploying your squadrons, because they had 6 activations  to your 2...  It would say so.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Players.  Plural.  Not Ambushing.

 

Deploy your Ships first.  Then your Squadrons.

 

Exactly.  Players

Players (plural) must deploy all ships before deploying any squadrons.  They both deploy all ships before any ships are deployed. 

 

 

If you had to "wait for you enemy to finish deploying Ships" before deploying your squadrons, because they had 6 activations  to your 2...  It would say so.

 

 

It does.

 

 

I mean, I'm open to the possibility that it's meant to be interpreted to mean "Each player must deploy all of his ships before deploying any of his squadrons."  As someone who often plays swarms, I would much prefer that that be the case.  But that's not what it says.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Was there ever a response to this?  I played Fleet ambush at Nationals last week and there the TO ruled that all of both player's ships had to be on the board before any squadrons.  It would be nice to see this make the next FAQ.  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...