Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Sazadek

A "Cancel" ask

Recommended Posts

Hi, my question is simple: Can i use The Hands Jugdment to counter Treachery?

That question is because of this: When an effect is canceled, that effect is no longer imminent, and further interrupts (including cancels) cannot be initiated in reference to the canceled effect.

 

So, can i use it?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

When an effect is canceled, that effect is no longer imminent, and further interrupts (including cancels) cannot be initiated in reference to the canceled effect.

 

The part in bold is the key. The Hands Judgement is not in reference to the canceled effect. It is in reference to Treachery. Treachery's effect is still imminent and therefore can be canceled by The Hands Judgement.

 

I believe the reason they say "including cancels" is so that you can't trigger multiple cancel events on the same effect.... because cancel events often have secondary benefits.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It's nested, remember

 

Action: I attempt to initiate an ability
Interrupt (would initiate) Treachery Initiates
Interrupt (would initiate) Hand's Judgement Initiates

Hand's Judgement Resolves, succesfully cancelling the initiation of Treachery. Since Treachery is cancelled, you could not initiate a SECOND cancel for treachery (or interrupt it's resolution in some way).
If both players pass on cancel interrupts, the initiation of the initial action completes, and its effects can resolve (and be interrupted in turn).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It's nested, remember

 

Action: I attempt to initiate an ability

Interrupt (would initiate) Treachery Initiates

Interrupt (would initiate) Hand's Judgement Initiates

Hand's Judgement Resolves, succesfully cancelling the initiation of Treachery. Since Treachery is cancelled, you could not initiate a SECOND cancel for treachery (or interrupt it's resolution in some way).

If both players pass on cancel interrupts, the initiation of the initial action completes, and its effects can resolve (and be interrupted in turn).

Would it be possible to play a second Treachery to finaly cancel the effect?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes. You'd replace the last line with "INterrupt (would initiate) treachery #2 initiates"..

 

Basically, you can keep interrupting a timing step so long as you haven't moved beyond it. Once an ability is cancelled (sucesfully), you can't continue interrupting it, and once it's resolved, you can't interrupt it - you can only react to it.

 

However, that doesn't stop you from interrupting a single ability multiple times, provided the interrupt triggering condition (when X) is met for each interrupt.

Edited by -Istaril

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...