Sign in to follow this  
rdw5150

Complete Newbie-couple quick questions

Hello!

Complete newbie (but experienced games)...... Bought case game and the 6 Mirkwood decks and and ready to go........

What is best way to learn?

Should I play base game with the 30 card ready made decks first?  Should I stick to one sphere or combine then all and create decks?

After I get I get the feel of the game (after completing base game perhaps), should I combine all my cards, and create decks to go through the 6 Mirkwood scenarios?

Oh and how does  one reduce threat level?

Any other suggestions?

Peace

Roger

thanks!

After learned, Just combine it all and start play Mirkwood scenarios?

Does the difficulty level of a scenario have anything to do with game play?

Thanks!

Peace

Roger

Read Beorn's Path and some of the hints and strategies from Tales from the Cards.

I played the first adventure in the core set with each of the four 30-card base decks until I could beat it to learn the rules and process, and then went on to start making my own decks for the other adventures.

I had to play two-handed (two decks like two players, instead of one solo deck) to beat the third coree quest, Escape from Dol Guldur, though.

1. Do not play the core 30 card Tactics deck solo - it will not work and you will be frustrated.

2. The 2nd quest in the core set "Journey Along the Anduin" is challenging, expect to spend some significant time learning about deck building for a quest and trial and error with this one.

3. The 3rd quest in the core set is nigh on impossible solo. Fun idea, but in practice it's extremely frustrating. Try it once or twice but realize that it is just crazy hard and there's not much to be done about it.

4. Before you start playing the Mirkwood cycle quests, look up some threads on how the Guarded keyword works in various situations - it can be tricky at first