Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
ChrisLS2

Squad Swarm/Strength in Numbers and Attachments

Recommended Posts

So I'm curious about how Squad Swarm and Strength in Numbers interacts with Attachments. 

 

The text on the Squad Swarm card is "The combined cost of both groups cannot exceed 15." The text of the Strength in Numbers card is "The combined deployment cost of these groups cannot exceed 12."

 

Is the cost of an Attachment to one or both deployment cards included in either of these? For example, if I give Vader's Finest (2 points) to a unit of Elite Stormtroopers (9 points) does that make the cost of that group 11? If so, I couldn't use Squad Swarm to activate a group of regular Stormtroopers (6 points). If not, and I'm only considering the cost listed on the deployment cards, then I could use Squad Swarm to activate both Elite and Regular Stormtroopers. Similarly, if I attached Vader's Finest to a regular Stormtrooper groups (total of 8 points), could I use Strength in Numbers to activate a second group of Regular Stormtroopers?

 

Thanks!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I took a look at the rules for Attachments included in packs like Boba Fett pack. It doesn't say anything about Attachments adding to the deployment cost of a group. It only refers to the deployment cost of the attachment itself. It seems like you may only need to look at the cost of the deployment card itself for Squad Swarm and Strength in Numbers but I'm going to e-mail FFG.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

One could come to the conclusion that since the attachment cost is included in VPs scored when the deployment group is destroyed, that the attachment in question would be part of this calculation. But, since there is no rule that states this specifically, this would be a question for FFG (See link in my signature).

 

"Skirmish Attachment", RtH, Page 5:

 

When a group with an “Attachment” card is defeated, the opposing player scores VPs equal to the deployment cost of the “Attachment” card, in addition to the VPs he scores from the defeated group’s Deployment card.

Edited by Fizz

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi Michael,

The deployment cost of a group is not altered when an upgrade is attached to it. They each have their own separate deployment costs that are both scored when that group is defeated. So, an attachment on a Stormtrooper group would not affect their eligibility for Squad Swarm or Strength in Numbers.

Thanks!

Paul Winchester

Game Developer

Fantasy Flight Games

pwinchester@fantasyflightgames.com

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...