Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
player1730469

Does a Hunter resolve his card when removed from combat?

Recommended Posts

In combat, the rules are clear about when a hunter's card is canceled, but does it still resolve if the hunter is removed from combat?

 

We determined that it does resolve, possibly allowing a hunter a parting punch, but there is some doubt.

 

Thanks.

 

 

Edited by GrimJester

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The card of a hunter defeated in combat does not resolve.  The Rules Reference for "Combat" addresses this in two places.

 

A. In Combat Step 5, "Resolve Dracula’s Effect", there is a note that "†† If all hunters in the combat are defeated after Dracula resolves his revealed card’s effect, the combat immediately ends." So clearly if there is only one hunter currently in the combat, his card does not resolve. 

 

But this leaves some ambiguity in the case where there are other hunters still in the fight.

B. In Combat Step 6, "Resolve Hunter’s Effect", the rule reads "Each hunter in the combat resolves the effect of his revealed card." Since hunters not at the current location would never have played a card to begin with, the only reason to specify "hunter in the combat" is to exclude defeated hunters from having their cards resolve.

Edited by randydiv

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...