Sign in to follow this  
The Silver King

Newbie here, I need some buying advice.

Hello there,

I am a new player to X-Wing. I recently purchased the Force Awakens Core Set, the Rebel Aces pack, the Imperial Aces pack, a TIE Phantom, and an E-Wing. I was looking into purchasing either the Rebel Transport or Tantive IV sets next, but I was wondering if adding a huge ship so early into my playing of this game would be bad. Like would it hinder me developing my skills with the smaller ships? If not, which one should I get first? I am mostly interested in playing this game for casual fun with my gaming group. I am not really big on tournament play when it comes to tabletop games, nor using metagame strategies.

If you're playing mostly/strictly casual, then the epic ships will be a blast for you. Although, with the small Imperial force that you have, a CR-90 and a small handful of rebels would probably easily win consistently. The Transport doesn't really have any offense, as it's meant for more of a support role(very fun to fly), and the cards that come with it do more to support the rest of your collection than those in the CR-90. So I would personally get the Transport and the original core set in your position. The extra core is to give the Imperials a couple extra Ties, and for an X-wing that can be used with many of the cards in the Transport pack. Extra bonus is getting more dice, templates, and asteroids.

Edited by Jturn314

Only get epic ships if you really love them or have a friend also into the game, I'd say.

I really like my Raider and all the upgrades for TIE Advanced it came with, but I don't play epic very much.

The single-ship expansions come with different pilots than the core set and aces pack.

For the next purchases, buy the TIE Interceptor expansion for the pilot cards, and then you can play a 3 Interceptor list, which is lots of fun.

Also get the T-70 X-wing expansion, it comes with new upgrades and new pilots.