Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Ou1975

Epic monster

Recommended Posts

During the Encounter Phase, an investigator must encounter each non-Epic Monster on his space before encountering each Epic Monster on his space.

That shows up in the "Additional Rules" section of every expansion.

Supposedly since it doesn't show up in the errata if you are just playing with the base game then you can choose to face the Epic Monster first... But that wouldn't be my interpretation.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I know you need to encounter non epic monsters that are on the same space as an epic one, but do you have to defeat each non epic monster to fight the epic monster?

 

 

 

During the Encounter Phase, an investigator must encounter each non-Epic Monster on his space before encountering each Epic Monster on his space.

That shows up in the "Additional Rules" section of every expansion.

Supposedly since it doesn't show up in the errata if you are just playing with the base game then you can choose to face the Epic Monster first... But that wouldn't be my interpretation.

 

 

One minor, but important clarification: as stated you only need to encounter the non epic monsters first.  So, to answer you original question, you don't need to defeat the non epic monsters to fight the epic monster - just encounter them.  Of course, if you don't defeat the epic monster, then next turn you'll need to encounter any non epic monsters you didn't defeat all the prior turn all over again before you encounter the epic monster again.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I know you need to encounter non epic monsters that are on the same space as an epic one, but do you have to defeat each non epic monster to fight the epic monster?

 

 

During the Encounter Phase, an investigator must encounter each non-Epic Monster on his space before encountering each Epic Monster on his space.

That shows up in the "Additional Rules" section of every expansion.

Supposedly since it doesn't show up in the errata if you are just playing with the base game then you can choose to face the Epic Monster first... But that wouldn't be my interpretation.

 

One minor, but important clarification: as stated you only need to encounter the non epic monsters first.  So, to answer you original question, you don't need to defeat the non epic monsters to fight the epic monster - just encounter them.  Of course, if you don't defeat the epic monster, then next turn you'll need to encounter any non epic monsters you didn't defeat all the prior turn all over again before you encounter the epic monster again.

Okay that makes sense then.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Okay which begs the next question do you only have to encounter a monster to have a follow up location encounter, or do you need to defeat the monster?

 

You must have defeated all monsters at a location before you can have any other encounters there.  Reference Guide page 3, Combat Encounters (last entry):

 

 

If an investigator defeats every Monster on his space during the Encounter Phase, he may resolve an additional encounter of his choice. 

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...