Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Acolyte Rivan

Spawn of Abhoth Cultist Question

Recommended Posts

I've got the rulebook handy.  From the FAQ on page 7:

 

Q. If an investigator defeats a Cultist Monster as part of a Spawn of Abhoth Special Encounter during the Encounter Phase, can he resolve another encounter?

 

 

A. Yes. Spawn of Abhoth Special Encounters are considered Combat Encounters. If an investigator defeats every Monster on his space during the Encounter Phase, he may resolve an additional encounter of his choice. 

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

When encountering a cultist while Abhoth is the ancient one you are supposed to draw a "Spawn of Abhoth" encounter card. Is this still a combat encounter for character abilities and/or card asset effects?

The EH team has a pretty good sense what might cause confusion. It's a really good idea to read the FAQ before asking on the forum.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

And now this has been overruled by the latest FAQ

 

 

Q When resolving a Spawn of Abhoth Special Encounter, can an investigator benefit from a bonus that applies during a Combat Encounter?

 

A. No. A Spawn of Abhoth Special Encounter is not a Combat Encounter. As such, bonuses that state “during a Combat Encounter” do not apply to tests resolved during the Special Encounter. (Note: is is in contradiction to an entry in the Frequently Asked Questions section of some printings of the Under the Pyramids expansion rulebook. is ruling takes precedence over other rulings.) 

 

 

 

Edit for formatting

Edited by ricedwlit

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...