Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
ficklegreendice

quick PSA regarding Omega Leader's ability

Recommended Posts

Oh man, that Accuracy Corrector one is brutal, and is definitely going to come up in a tourney unless they put out an FAQ.

 

Same thing also applies to Bossk, who cancels a crit to add two hit results.

 

And of course, Omega Leader does absolutely nothing to prevent you from modifying dice if you just don't target him and let your wingmen deal with him.

 

EDIT: Oh, hey. Expose would also count as a hard counter against this guy!

Edited by PhantomFO

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Oh man, that Accuracy Corrector one is brutal, and is definitely going to come up in a tourney unless they put out an FAQ.

 

Same thing also applies to Bossk, who cancels a crit to add two hit results.

 

And of course, Omega Leader does absolutely nothing to prevent you from modifying dice if you just don't target him and let your wingmen deal with him.

 

absolutely true

 

Omega is a 26 point pocket-ace. He won't dominate the game, he's just mean as hell if he's one-on-one against someone

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

 

Add Han crew in to Changing results

 

I would if anyone added Han to their squads ;)

 

So Luke, Poe and Keyan are on the chopping block.

 

however if you run a list with both high and low PS ships, he can't TL them all! so... pew pew crumbles to Focus fire, unless his squad has XX-23 Tracers just to keep him/her alive

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

 

 

Add Han crew in to Changing results

 

I would if anyone added Han to their squads ;)

 

So Luke, Poe and Keyan are on the chopping block.

 

however if you run a list with both high and low PS ships, he can't TL them all! so... pew pew crumbles to Focus fire, unless his squad has XX-23 Tracers just to keep him/her alive

 

 

I wouldn't try to keep him alive that hard

 

"el presidente" or not, dude's still a Tie Fighter. 26 points for what he does is a steal, but don't expect the world of him. He is, after all, no Soontir

just keep him in the back of the formation, or flank hard, and let him do his dirty work

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

 

 

 

Add Han crew in to Changing results

 

I would if anyone added Han to their squads ;)

 

So Luke, Poe and Keyan are on the chopping block.

 

however if you run a list with both high and low PS ships, he can't TL them all! so... pew pew crumbles to Focus fire, unless his squad has XX-23 Tracers just to keep him/her alive

 

 

I wouldn't try to keep him alive that hard

 

"el presidente" or not, dude's still a Tie Fighter. 26 points for what he does is a steal, but don't expect the world of him. He is, after all, no Soontir

just keep him in the back of the formation, or flank hard, and let him do his dirty work

 

im not saying its a good form of protection, but if you have say a certain PS 3 Tie adv with AC and XX-23 so that he can survive an almost certain death by TLT's it wouldnt go amiss for one point. not to mention (arguably) the best blocker/nuisance that exists in a Tie adv.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

the question that came up in the other thread. is he really trumping the emperor? the targetet ship can not modify dice but if the emperor is on another ship, is the emperor or the targeted ship modifying the die??

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

the question that came up in the other thread. is he really trumping the emperor? the targetet ship can not modify dice but if the emperor is on another ship, is the emperor or the targeted ship modifying the die??

My gut feeling is that since the dice belong to the targeted target-locked ship, those dice cannot be modified, regardless of where the modification comes from. However, I don't see any way to come to this conclusion without an entry in the FAQ.

Edited by Budgernaut

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Copied from other thread.

There's actually an interesting argument to be made here. I would suggest that, under specific circumstances, you actually can use the emperor to modify rolls associated with Omega Leader's TL'ed victim.

Those cicumstances are that the TL'ed ship must not be the ship the Emperor is on. Bear with me:

1) Only the ship that Omega Leader has a TL on is prohibited from modifying dice.

Omega Leader: Enemy ships that you have locked cannot modify any dice when attacking you or defending against your attacks.

2) The Emperor's ship is the one doing the modifying.

Emperor Palpatine: Once per round, you may change a friendly ship's die result to any other die result. That die result cannot be modified again.

On page 2 of the Rules Reference, there is a definition of the term "you" on upgrade cards:

Many Ship card abilities use the word “you” to refer to the corresponding ship. Upgrade and Damage cards that use the word “you” refer to the ship to which the card is assigned.

So, in the example of Palp+Aces, the shuttle is the ship performing a modification whenever you use Palpatine's ability. That means that if Omega Leader shoots at Fel and has a lock on him, Fel cannot use any focus or evade tokens or autothrusters to help himself because that would be the locked ship performing modifications. However, the emperor shuttle is not locked by Omega Leader and is not prohibited from modifying dice. Therefore, the emperor can be used to modify Fel's defense roll. The only time you cannot use the emperor against Omega Leader is when Omega Leader has a lock on the ship carrying Palpatine.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

man that sucks

 

there is a precedent for emperor being able to modify the TLed ship provided it isn't his own

 

CARD INTERPRETATIONS
Many Ship card abilities use the word “you” to refer
to the corresponding ship. Upgrade and Damage
cards that use the word “you” refer to the ship to
which the card is assigned.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Thanks for bringing it up, guys. Added to the OP
Edited by ficklegreendice

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

the question that came up in the other thread. is he really trumping the emperor? the targetet ship can not modify dice but if the emperor is on another ship, is the emperor or the targeted ship modifying the die??

It seems pretty simple to me.

 

If you want to modify dice in the Modify Dice step on an attack or defense roll, and Omega Leader has you target locked, and Omega Leader is the attacker or defender, then no.

 

If what you want to do occurs outside the Modify Dice step, then yes.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

the technical answer (going by the definition of "you" in the rules reference):

 

the ship that the emperor is on is modifying the dice

 

 

if the ship that the emperor is on is the fulfilling the conditions for OL's ability, then it cannot use the emperor on itself

Edited by ficklegreendice

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

this on the other hand concludes that noone attacking OL or beeing attacker by OL can use palp as long as you keep the lock on the shuttle.

 

 

it does not

 

OL's ability only applies when you're attacking or being attacked by the TL ship

 

so emperor doesn't give a flipping frick unless he's the one shooting or getting shot by OL while OL has him locked.

 

 

note: it's not "your opponent cannot modify any dice", it's "enemy ships that you have TLed cannot modify any dice"

 

 

because "you" is defined as the ship bearing the upgrade, Palpie can influence OL's target unless the ship Palpie is on fufills the condition for OL's ability

 

 

Example:

 

OL shoots a locked Fel. Fel cannot spend his evades/focus or use thrusters to modify his dice, even if he got a focus from fleet officer or something.

 

Palpie's shuttle is not an "enemy ship(s) that you have locked" so it's free to influence the roll

 

 

if Palpie's shuttle is locked and attacking or being attacked by OL, it cannot spend its focus or use emperor on itself. It can still use emperor on attacks outside of ones involving OL and itself

Edited by ficklegreendice

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

this on the other hand concludes that noone attacking OL or beeing attacker by OL can use palp as long as you keep the lock on the shuttle.

That's incorrect. There are two triggers for OL's ability.

1) OL locks onto the ship.

2) OL attacks or is attacked by the locked ship.

If you lock onto the Palpatine shuttle and shoot at Fel, you are fulfilling the first requirement but not the second. Therefor, OL's ability doesn't activate and you can use the Emperor's ability.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

this on the other hand concludes that noone attacking OL or beeing attacked by OL can use palp as long as you keep the lock on the shuttle.

Not actually. Lock down only applied to ships that a) are target locked and b) are attacking or defending against the ol. If the palp shuttle is locked but not attacking or defending, nothing is halted.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

and a minor thing here:

 

in regards to HLC (which must modify its initial crits to hits), I can't find any explicit wording

 

In Warmachine, for example, there is a very clearly established hierarchy (MUST trumps can't, can't trumps may)

 

 

I'm willing to bet the same occurs in X-wing, but there is no concrete wording that I could find

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

hlc crits to hits and mangler hit to crit happen after rolling but BEFORE the modify step i would say

edit: mangler is a may change so i think both weapons only deal hits against him.

Edited by Taiowaa

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...