Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
sdh007

The man who would be king... rule question

Recommended Posts

Hello all,

 

I played the Shadow Rune this weekend with my girlfriend and we managed to play it to the finale "The man who would be king", which was a real thriller and eventually won by her.

 

However, the following occured:

 

* My girlfriend played the heroes Leoric the Runemaster and Mordrog the Knight. The first encounter of the finale she won pretty easily by defeating Splig so Leoric had the iron crown during encounter 2.

* I managed to quickly kill Leoric and so the iron crown was dropped.

* Mordrog picked up the iron crown and....here comes the question: he also picked up all the gear Leoric had.

 

Now, I didn't found anything specific in the rules about this kind of situation. You can trade items between heroes if they are adjacent and so on. Normally, even when a hero is knocked out and stands up/revives, you can change gear with adjacent heroes.

 

However, I didn't found anything regarding this situation: what if a hero really dies (like in the finale)? Can another hero pick up all his gear like he would do for the iron crown in that quest?

 

I'm not a bad loser, I didn't mind that I lost since it was an epic final battling between Mordrog and Zachareth...but I'm unclear if picking up that gear is legal.

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I don't believe heroes "drop their gear" when they die, except for quest specific rules about some relics. It requires a move action on the part of one hero to be able to trade, but both heroes trading have to be "on the map" which the defeated hero is not.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ok that's fair and clear to me then. Thematicly I guess it could be done but considering your argument. SO in a way I should have won as she would been able to hit me with such a powerful weapon then..ooh well, better not to tell her :P

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Alarmed is correct. You cannot trade gear with a KO (or otherwise defeated) hero, as that hero is not on the map. If a hero is KO or killed, nothing he was carrying, including gear, is available to other heroes except for things the quest rules say to put on the map (such as objective tokens.)

Also, note that you cannot trade during a standup/revive. You need to perform a move action.

Edited by Zaltyre

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Also, note that you cannot trade during a standup/revive. You need to perform a move action.

 

That made me wonder... What if you revive a friend during a move action? Could you trade with him right after he stands up?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

Also, note that you cannot trade during a standup/revive. You need to perform a move action.

 

That made me wonder... What if you revive a friend during a move action? Could you trade with him right after he stands up?

 

Yes, because you're now adjacent to a hero during a move action.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...