Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Warpman

Automated epicness Protocols

Recommended Posts

Well, if they FAQ the "free" word out of the card...

It would suddenly let the half-destroyed ship to perform actions from the destroyed part, all the huges will always AAAAALWAAAAYS have Reinforce...

Card is truly epic, bumping the resinence of Huges up to eleven. 

Reinforce aft because FOUR TLS ON IT
Recover the Fore that is near-hull?

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

While Huge Ship rules are separate. The Rules Reference says card abilities can override rules in the guide. It only says that "cannot" on a card is absolute. This seems to say that "cannot" in the rules is not absolute. Which is why Tycho can do actions while stressed even though the rules say you cannot.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

While Huge Ship rules are separate. The Rules Reference says card abilities can override rules in the guide. It only says that "cannot" on a card is absolute. This seems to say that "cannot" in the rules is not absolute. Which is why Tycho can do actions while stressed even though the rules say you cannot.

But if a card instructs you to perform a Barrel roll action for example, , and there's nowhere you're allowed to do it while stressed, and nowhere said you can do it twice in a turn

 

You won't.

 

It's the situation here. It instructs,  but doesn't drop the direct prohibition do do free actions.

Edited by Warpman

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In reverse order. 

 

The results at the bottom of the card says you (the ship) get either a "free recover action" or a "free reinforce action".  These two results are quite specific, and whilst they are free actions, they are "specified free actions", reinforce or recover.

 

To use of either of these two results you spend one energy and perform an action (e.g. Target lock, jam) that is not a "Recover action" or a "Reinforce action", once per round.

 

Where does it say you get a "free action" on the card?   Currently, you (the ship) may acquire a free action (e.g. Target Lock) from another ship, or use an action from the action bar as your action to get the "specified free actions"

 

Could the problem be solved by specifying the timing of the action (free or otherwise) used to get the "specified free actions", recover or reinforce, to be in the perform action step? 

Edited by Flamestalker

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In reverse order. 

 

The results at the bottom of the card says you (the ship) get either a "free recover action" or a "free reinforce action".  These two results are quite specific, and whilst they are free actions, they are "specified free actions", reinforce or recover.

 

To use of either of these two results you spend one energy and perform an action (e.g. Target lock, jam) that is not a "Recover action" or a "Reinforce action", once per round.

 

Where does it say you get a "free action" on the card?   Currently, you (the ship) may acquire a free action (e.g. Target Lock) from another ship, or use an action from the action bar as your action to get the "specified free actions"

 

Could the problem be solved by specifying the timing of the action (free or otherwise) used to get the "specified free actions", recover or reinforce, to be in the perform action step? 

Huge ships can't do free actions, specific or not.

It's there in their rulings.

that's the problem.

 

just faq the wrd out and the card gets to work

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

As far as I can tell, this has not been formally cleared up in a rules update or FAQ. However, I would not say that Epic is "abandoned by FFG and organized play." They still have Epic side-events at places like GenCon. Epic is just a lower priority, unfortunately.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...