Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Tallgeese

King Kazador Vs Judgement of Verena/Troll Vomit

Recommended Posts

 Not 100% certain on this, but we'll see what you guys think........happy.gif

 Ok, I have King Kazador in play along with a couple of other units, my opponent attempts to play Troll Vomit. Kazador states:

 Opponents cannot  target this unit with card effects unless they pay an additional 3 resources per effect.

 If my oppenent cannot pay the additional three I am guessing Kazador survives, but his friends bite the big then? Or does my opponent have to pay the extra three just to be able to play the card in the first place. The question is the same for Judgement assuming I don't have developments in Kazador's zone. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Neither, the King dies without the opponent having to pay extra. Tactics that have universal effects are not precluded by text such as the Kings. His effect only protects hims from effects that state "target unit" in singular form.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 But Kazador's effect is already in place as it is a static ability that doesn't need to be triggered. All units are the target of the spell, therefore he is being targeted and the additional cost should be paid?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

An effect can affect a card without targeting it. All the resets fall into this category. A card only targets a card if it uses the phrase "target" in its text.

I understand why it seems strange, but the cards and rules should be taken pretty literally when trying to figure out how they work. When they are not intended to be taken literally FFG will say so in a rules clarification by way of the FAQ (which has not yet been released but is in the works).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest Not In Sample

If there's not esplicit rulings, ther's game wisdom and dormouse owns it ;-)

That's simple: a "targetting" effect implies a choice. Global effects don't. YOU HAVE to kill ALL units. You're not targeting every single unit and kill it.

In a Targeting effect, you have to CHOOSE one or more units and kill them (or do something nasty to them ;-)).

 

 

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...