Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
trheel

Rules question

Recommended Posts

I'm not familiar with all the rules changes in the new edition (I have the 2005 edition), but assuming Drac still moves using the cards as before, the answer is no.  The trail of cards doubles as an audit trail to prove Dracula has been moving legally, in the unfortunate case where someone suspects otherwise.  If you pull a card out of the middle of the trail to put it at the front, you might end up making it look like you moved illegally in the past.

 

You could, however, use a power card like Hide to make it LOOK like you've moved when you're still in your previous position.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Dracula cannot move to a location that is on The Trail (Learn to Play page 8, under the Dracula Phase: Movement in paragraph 2 it says Dracula chooses a location from the Location Deck).  Dracula can move to a location that is a Lair by simply turning it into a hideout again, putting in on the first location of The Trail and adding another encounter card (Learn to Play page 15 under Lairs paragraph 2).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If you are using the advanced rules, Dracula has a power card called Misdirect which can be used to achieve what you want to do.  Misdirect clears any location on the trail -- with the Misdirect card replacing the cleared location. Then you place a location card in the first slot as normal. So as long as Dracula is adjacent to the cleared location, he could move to it on that turn.

 

P.S. You will not find a RULE prohibiting Dracula from doubling back on his trail, because the GAME MECHANICS prevent him from doing so (except as above with Misdirect). To move to a location, he places it's location card in the first slot. If he has already been there, that card is already played on his trail (and there is only one copy) so he can't do it.

Edited by randydiv

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

What happens is Dracula can not move? For example if he as at a town with only 2 ways out and one has consecrated ground and the the other a heavenly host token, he cant move to those locations. What happens?

 

Also what about something similar where he is at a port city block by Consecrated ground and his only way out is by sea but by doing so it would kill him? Does he have to move and die?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

What happens is Dracula can not move? For example if he as at a town with only 2 ways out and one has consecrated ground and the the other a heavenly host token, he cant move to those locations. What happens?

 

Also what about something similar where he is at a port city block by Consecrated ground and his only way out is by sea but by doing so it would kill him? Does he have to move and die?

 

In the first case, you could hide in your current location for a turn.  The Heavenly Host token will be cleared next turn and then you can move again.

In the second case, you would have to move and die, assuming that's your only legal option.

If there are no legal options whatsoever...

 

Rulebook, page 7:

Dracula Errors

If a player discovers that Dracula has committed an error (e.g., moved between two cities that are not connected by a road or if he is unable to make a legal move when placing a card on the trail during the Dracula phase), Dracula suffers a penalty by following these steps:

1. Dracula reveals his current location.

2. Dracula clears all hideouts on the trail, leaving his current location on the first space of the trail if it was not already there.

3. Dracula suffers 5 damage.

 

The moral of the story being: don't let yourself get stuck in a position where you can't make a legal move.

 

PS: the FAQ says Dracula is not allowed to skip his turn.  You must move, or pay the penalty for making an error if you can't.

Edited by Steve-O

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  

×