Sign in to follow this  
Eyegor

If you can only have one... Which core to start with

Thank You in advance for taking the time to help complete newbs like myself. I've been lurking on these boards for over a year and now is the time to de-cloak.

As a novice starting out with his first X-wing purchase which Core Set would you start with? I assumed that TFA was the new standard and I should start there. The updated deck and ships seemed like the logical choice. But now with the old deck remaining legal for the foreseeable future should I grab an "old" Core while I still can? I don't know how far my obsession with this game will go. Hopefully I can get the kids involved. It may never get past my kitchen table. I would like to experience tournament play some day but discretionary income for gaming is pretty thin so squad building may take awhile. So if you could only have one would you take Luke or Poe? Howlrunner or Omega leader? What say you all? Thanks again.

P.S. I've seen all the suggestions in the past that say start with 2 Core Sets and go from there. I've also read the great budget builds that recommend a single Core and a max of two single expansions. Good ideas all. For now let's assume I will be buying ONLY 1 Core Set and no expansions for the first few games. Thanks again.

P.P.S My novice status is already showing through. It was only after I posted that I remembered that Howl is not in the Core Set. Duh.

Edited by Eyegor

Hi, Eyegor, & welcome to (posting on) the forums!

At this point, it really is whatever you like best.  Classic X & TIEs, or the new X & TIEs.

Should you get into the game, you'll eventually want both, if for no other reason than the pilots included in each.  Damage Deck fiasco aside, the other reasons for the ages-old suggestion for 2 cores is the second set of templates and more dice.  This still holds true when buying a red core and a blue core.