Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
SplitInfinity

Question about power armour bonuses

Recommended Posts

Hey folks,

 

Was reading through the different power armour marks to try to discern the different bonuses and qualities of each, and I'm slightly confused. The Rites of Battle book states that the Mark VII uses the rules presented in the Deathwatch Rulebook, which leaves me wondering whether the other armour marks lack certain rules.

 

The "called shots are half actions" and recoil suppression bonuses mentioned in the core rulebook - do these apply to all armour marks? If so, does Mark VII have any individual rules or bonuses?

 

Thanks!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

First of all, welcome aboard!

 

Was reading through the different power armour marks to try to discern the different bonuses and qualities of each, and I'm slightly confused. The Rites of Battle book states that the Mark VII uses the rules presented in the Deathwatch Rulebook, which leaves me wondering whether the other armour marks lack certain rules.

 

...If so, does Mark VII have any individual rules or bonuses?

 

Mk7, as the most common type in use, is representing the benchmark Astartes Power Armour in Core. It grants a number of bonuses listed on p. 161, but those are included in the general description. The special rules of all other Marks found in Rites of Battle are used to highlight the differences when compared to the baseline stats and attributes of Mk7. This in turn means that basically all Mk7 attributes and bonuses apply unless specifically noted otherwise, although as a GM I'd exercise extreme caution with very old (pre-Mk4) models for various reasons, the main one being common sense.

 

The "called shots are half actions" and recoil suppression bonuses mentioned in the core rulebook - do these apply to all armour marks?

If we want to keep to a very pedantic Rules As Written interpretation, Core lists "Called Shots are Half Actions" as an ability granted by the armour's Autosenses. Table 3-7 on page 151 in ROB lists all Marks except Mk1 as including Autosenses, so yes, they do. If not, and you want to differentiate a bit more between marks, you may also remove or nerf the ability for Mk2, 3 and 5 as the Autosenses of these Marks appear to be less powerful (as it gives only +5 to the relevant Heightened Senses test, instead of the normal +10). As for recoil suppression, see Table 3-8 (also RoB, p. 151) - all Marks except Mk1 possess the feature.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...