Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
agarrett

Power Token Locations

Recommended Posts

  Does it matter where the power tokens are? Or rather, which cards have power?

 

  In a power challenge, you take power from your opponent's faction, and add it to your own (Power Claim, rulebook p. 16). In some cases, like renown (rulebook p. 18) the character involved in the challenge gains power, rather than the faction. Is this deliberate, and if so, what are the implications of that?

 

  Specifically, does this mean that the power a character gained - whether from renown or other card effect - is not available to be taken through a power claim? What happens to that power when / if the character dies?

 

  I might be overreading this, but it looks like that distinction is there in the rules, but some of the implications are less than clean. Thanks.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

no, it's pretty clean and clear, and you're exactly right.

 

Power on characters is protected from power challenges, but at the mercy of the character staying alive. If the character dies, or leaves play, the power disappears (think of this in terms of Ser Jorah Mormont.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

During a Power challenge, if you win, it comes off the opponents Faction card.

With Renown for characters, if you win a Power challenge and you are unopposed, opponent uses no defenders, your characters with Renown in that particular challenge get a single power token placed on their card.

Example, you have two characters with Renown in a military challenge, your opponent declares unopposed, you win the challenge.

Due to winning the Power challenge you place tokens on your Faction card equal to your claim on your plot card, plus any other bonuses. Thiese would come from your opponents Faction card. If they don't have enough, they must use as many as they have. Say they only had 1 token and the claim was 2, they would have to use that single token on their Faction ca d.

You then add a Single Power token on to each of the Renownd characters that were involved in the challenge. Tokens for this would come from the Treasurary pile.

All the best.

Richard

Edited by paganeagle2001

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Just to be clear, any Unopposed Bonus Power Tokens come from the Treasury, not from your Opponent's Faction Card.

 

 

Due to winning the Power challenge you place tokens on your Faction card equal to your claim on your plot card, plus any other bonuses. Thiese would come from your opponents Faction card.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Page 10 how to play booklet:-

Power Challenge: The defending player removes a number of power counters from his faction card equal to the claim value on the attacking players revealed plot card, and moves them to the attacking players faction card.

All the best.

Richard

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

kauai wasn't contradicting that - he was referring to the unopposed bonus (the additional power you get if a challenge is not defended against, or defended against by a total str of 0) - which is NOT taken from the opponent but taken from the treasury. The same is true for Renown, the power gained by Sansa, etc. The only power that is taken from the opponent is the power for power claim, or where a card specifically instructs you to do so (e.g. Chamber of the Painted Table).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Okay, messed up in the example, first of all it should have said, Power not Military.

Now, keep the same 2 characters as Power attackers.

The end result would have been.

Cost of claim on attackers plot card plus any additional bonuses - from defenders faction card to attackers faction card.

1 power token from treasury for the unopposed attack.

1 power token from treasury to be placed on the renown character cards of this power challenge.

Hopefully that was the right way.

All the best.

Richard

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Right outcome. There's just one little terminology thing to be aware of:

 

Cost of claim on attackers plot card plus any additional bonuses - from defenders faction card to attackers faction card.

1 power token from treasury for the unopposed attack.

 

The power for unopposed is considered a "challenge bonus" and awarded (from the treasury) in window 4.2.3. So your reference to "any additional bonuses" is potentially confusing, implying that challenge bonuses like unopposed could come from the faction card.

 

It is probably more accurate to say "claim on attacker's plot card including any claim modifiers - from defender's faction card...".

Edited by ktom

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

LTP, p.9-10: "Initiating and Resolving a Challenge. ... Step 1. Announce challenge type, opponent, and declare attackers: (Active Player) Announces which characters (under his or her control) are being declared as attackers, and kneels those characters. ... Step 3. Compare STR and determine challenge winner: Add together the STR of each attacking character, as well as any modifiers the attacking player has active. This value becomes the total attacking STR. Next, add together the STR of each defending character, as well as any modifiers the defending player has active. This value becomes the total defending STR."

 

If you are asking a serious question, I apologize for this, but given all those plurals in the rules, I kind of feel like I'm feeding a troll?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

LTP, p.9-10: "Initiating and Resolving a Challenge. ... Step 1. Announce challenge type, opponent, and declare attackers: (Active Player) Announces which characters (under his or her control) are being declared as attackers, and kneels those characters. ... Step 3. Compare STR and determine challenge winner: Add together the STR of each attacking character, as well as any modifiers the attacking player has active. This value becomes the total attacking STR. Next, add together the STR of each defending character, as well as any modifiers the defending player has active. This value becomes the total defending STR."

 

If you are asking a serious question, I apologize for this, but given all those plurals in the rules, I kind of feel like I'm feeding a troll?

Sorry only started playing today and genuinely thought it was just 1 char per challenge. Make more sense now!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

For Sansa Stark do the power tokens get placed on her (like Renown) or do they go on your Faction card?  I assume faction since it says gain 1 for your faction, but trying to clarify.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...