Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Chaosad20

Hunter Protocol + Explosive Armaments Query

Recommended Posts

If I was to use the upgrade EXPLOSIVE ARMAMENTS with IG-88, could I use the command card HUNTER PROTOCOL to trigger the double surge +1 dmg/Blast 2 effect TWICE in one attack? In this situation I roll TWO yellow dice during my attack and end up with 4 surge symbols on my roll ( rare but possible).

EXPLOSIVE ARMAMENTS-

Each figure in this group gains: ~~(2 surge symbols)- +1dmg/ Blast 2dmg

HUNTER PROTOCOL-

Use while attacking. You may trigger the same ~(1 surge symbol) ability up to twice.

I guess overall I am unsure of the differences, if any, of a single/double surge symbol in regards to the wording of the card.

Any thoughts and/or answers to this?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I would say yes, as the RRG does not delineate between ~ and ~~ abilities. The rule states "each ~ ability can be triggered only once per attack," so either you could ALWAYS trigger the ~~ ability twice or it is considered in the same fashion as a ~ ability.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In one of the topic in this forum (Combo clarification: To the limit + Pummel), Fizz clarified that a special action with only one arrow and one that cost two actions (like Pummel) are both considered to be special actions (there is nothing like a double action, its only an extra cost). So I would assume this is the same here, explosive armaments is a surge ability and can be duplicated by hunter protocol, even if it has an extra cost.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...