Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Edsel62

Admiral Ackbar's Ability

Recommended Posts

This is not XI7 Turbolasers vs Advanced Projectors there is no inherent ambiguity in the relations of words here.

There was no ambiguity on the Advanced Projectors vs XI7 issue. There was confusion, but no ambiguity. XI7 is quite clear. In this case there is both confusion (regardless of how clear you think it is - that doesn't matter, others are equally certain you're wrong, and many people are genuinely unsure,) and ambiguity. I don't care what your interpretation is, because I'm not trying to discuss different interpretations. We all know the two interpretations, and we all know why each side thinks they're right. No sense worrying more about it until it releases (unless you see Ackbar a lot in your local casual games from Sullust, then pick an interpretation for now and go with it.)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It seems to me that, people are looking for ambiguity in Akbar, that just isn't there. Probably because they think the card is overpowered. At the end of the day, it really doesn't matter how clearly the card is worded, if FFG want to FAQ and nerf it, they will. ;) let's just hope they don't.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It seems to me that, people are looking for ambiguity in Akbar, that just isn't there. Probably because they think the card is overpowered. At the end of the day, it really doesn't matter how clearly the card is worded, if FFG want to FAQ and nerf it, they will. ;) let's just hope they don't.

Well they will FAQ it (FAQ stands for Frequently Asked Question, were you thinking of errata?) because regardless of any actually ambiguity there is perceived ambiguity. It was the same thing with XI7 vs AP. XI7 was very clear on what the card interaction should be, but still there was a lot of confusion.

I think Ackbar could be worded a bit better to better convey what I assume his ability is, but I think most people are in agreement their interpretation. We'll just have to wait and see what FFG says.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So, here is the question.

Why would you let an ISD 2 with 4 red dice (average damage of 2.5) with no upgrades be better than a rebel ship with a Commander?

Too newbish to answer the question from a game balance perspective...but a possible answer is lore. ISDs are purpose built warships and the Mon Cals are still running secretly converted liners at this point..(well, if any of the EU survives)...

r/

feld

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

For the most part lore is cast aside for gameplay balance pretty frequently. They try to balance gameplay around lore if they can, but sometimes that just isn't possible.

Some of the EU has survived. No telling how much will, but I'm willing to guess most broad concepts and characters will.

Edited by DerErlkoenig

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm discussing FFG's play testing, and their response to people asking for a clarification.

FFG has a policy of not addressing rule issues for expansions that haven't been officially released yet.

I asked them about something with X-Wing about a card that hadn't been released yet, and Alex told me that they won't address a rule issue until the card is actually released.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm discussing FFG's play testing, and their response to people asking for a clarification.

FFG has a policy of not addressing rule issues for expansions that haven't been officially released yet.I asked them about something with X-Wing about a card that hadn't been released yet, and Alex told me that they won't address a rule issue until the card is actually released.

Yes.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

A question that came up last night. The Rebels attacked my SD with the corvette that only has blue dice, but said that Ackbar gives them red dice, this does not sound right to me, adding yes, but giving when you can not even attack at that range. As I play Empire did not think it sounded right but I am not sure, thoughts?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

A question that came up last night. The Rebels attacked my SD with the corvette that only has blue dice, but said that Ackbar gives them red dice, this does not sound right to me, adding yes, but giving when you can not even attack at that range. As I play Empire did not think it sounded right but I am not sure, thoughts?

the red dice are added AFTER the attack is declared so the Cr90 B still cannot attack at lnog range

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

"Before a friendly ship's Attack Step, it may choose to attack from only its left and right hull zones this round. If it does, it may add 2 red dice to its attack pool while attacking a ship."

It says left AND right not left OR right. So they can shoot out both side. Or guppies with gunnery can fire with ackbar on 2 different targets

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

That depends on how strongly you want to treat that "and". The most restrictive interpretation means that you'd have to actually shoot once out of both sides arcs, not just one.

Although I find that interpretation pretty weak. That's the wording, but it seems pretty certain that it isn't the intent.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have to say this is one instance in which ambiguity could've very easily been avoided. For example:
 

"Before a friendly ship's Attack Step, it may choose to attack from only its left and/or right hull zones this round. If it does, it may add 2 red dice to its attack pool while attacking a ship."

 
Negative constructions could've worked, too, though they're always a little trickier. Perhaps something like:
 
"Before a friendly ship's Attack Step, it may choose not to attack from only its front nor rear hull zones this round. If it does, it may add 2 red dice to its attack pool while attacking a ship."
 

or
 
"Before a friendly ship's Attack Step, it may choose to add 2 red dice to its attack pool while attacking a ship this round. If it does, it cannot attack from its front or rear hull zones."

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Every Ship, Every Time, if you want.

 

"Before a friendly ship's Attack Step, it may choose to attack from only its left and right hull zones this round. If it does, it may add 2 red dice to its attack pool while attacking a ship."

 

 

Before a friendly ships attack Step, you make the decision.  Because there is a "Before" Trigger, it may happen once per event listed...

Which means the decision can be made every time you hav a "before a friendly ship attack step", however, it may only happen once Per attack Step...

It seems silly, but that stops you from saying "I make this decision 10 times in the "before attack step" part, deciding to only attack from Left and Right 10 times, and then adding 20 dice...

Edited by Drasnighta

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

He is an Upgrade Card.

 

Upgrade cards on destroyed ships are face down and not in play.

 

You cannot claim their effect as they are not in play.

 

This means that a Ship that was being kept alive by Motti will spontaniously explode without his Oversight.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...