Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
ovinomanc3r

Quick LOS question

Recommended Posts

To check if the target is inside of the firing arc the yellow bullet must be inside or a slice of the hull is enough?

As far as I know for firing arc measurement you work with the hull area (not the yellow point) but sometimes the shot looks weird, almost parabolic, even without crossing the lines between hulls of course.

Edited by ovinomanc3r

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

No. The arc line (green for Imperials red for Rebels) has to be in that arc. You then measure from your yellow dot of the hull zone that is attacking to the hull zones yellow dot of the defender to make sure it is not obstructive.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I don't quite understand what you are saying but I will do my best to answer.

So when you fire you:

1) check range

2) if in range check arc

-a firing arc is determined by extending the line on the base out creating a zone that is called your firing arc

3) if you have range and arc check LOS

- LOS or line of sight is determined by drawing a strait line from the yellow dot on the attacker to the yellow dot on the defender

-if this line passes through one of the arc lines of the DEFENDER (just the printed portion on the base not the imaginary extension) there is no LOS and that attack is illegal.

-Also note LOS CAN pass through the attacker's arc (this can happen when an arc clips the corner of the defenders base)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

To check if the target is inside of the firing arc the yellow bullet must be inside or a slice of the hull is enough?

As far as I know for firing arc measurement you work with the hull area (not the yellow point) but sometimes the shot looks weird, almost parabolic, even without crossing the lines between hulls of course.

o Wait I Understand what you mean! As lyreaus pointed out The yellow dot is not used when determining Arc so a "sliver of base" qualifies

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Here's an illustration from another thread:
 

For additional reference:

Armada%20LOS.jpg

An Imperial Customs Corvette has caught up to a group of freighters smuggling arms for the rebel terrorists. The Corvette (A) powers up the turbolasers in its front hull zone and prepares to disintegrate the traitorous ships.

-There is a clear line of sight to the rear hull zones of ships B and C.
-There is a clear line of sight to the left hull zone of ship D: the attacker's own hull zones are ignored for the LoS and range check, provided the defending hull zone is within the firing arc.
-No attack can be made against the right hull zone of ship B: the line of sight crosses through the freighter's rear hull zone.
-No attack can be made against the left hull zone of ship C: although the line of sight (dot-to-dot) is clear, the range measurement (in blue) crosses the Gozanti's rear hull zone.


I think your question falls under the second point (attacking the left hull zone of D is legal)

Edited by DiabloAzul

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm not sure the shot on D is possible.  The RRG states that 'the defending squadron or hull zone must be inside the attacking hull zone's firing arc'.

 

LoS can be drawn to D, but it is well outside of the forward firing arc.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm not sure the shot on D is possible.  The RRG states that 'the defending squadron or hull zone must be inside the attacking hull zone's firing arc'.

 

LoS can be drawn to D, but it is well outside of the forward firing arc.

No its not. The Arc line is also apart of that Arc so if that line crosses even a NICK of that hull you can try for LoS.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I really don't understand. First you're talking about measuring from yellow dot to yellow dot. Then from the closest part of the hull. Then both. Why? :S

I've literally just been playing yellow dot to yellow dot, as long as it's within the arc and has LOS

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Simplified:

 

There are 3 checks.

 

1. Check arc (must be in arc)

2. Check LoS (dot to dot - or base edge for squadrons, can be traced through OWN hull zones)

3. Check range (closest to closest of relevant hull zones, must be in arc)

 

All 3 are independent.

 

All 3 conditions must be fulfilled for a shot to be valid.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Can't you shoot C? Why?

 

 

Relatedly: C would be legal if you were allowed to measure range from any point of the attacking hull zone to any part of the defending hull zone. But you're not.

Sorry but I missed. Does the hull line count at range measurement? Is it not for LOS?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The 1.1.1 FAQ introduced an additional check: if the range measurement (which must be made along the shortest line between the attacking and defending hull zones) crosses a hull zone of the target ship other than the target zone, the attack cannot be made.

(in Spanish below for extra clarity)

Para determinar si un ataque es válido o no, hay tres controles:

1) Arco: al menos parte de la zona objetivo ha de estar dentro del arco de la zona atacante.

2) Línea de Visión: si la línea que une los puntos amarillos de las zonas atacante y objetivo cruza un obstáculo u otra nave, el ataque está obstruido (1 dado menos); si cruza cualquier otra zona de la nave objetivo, el ataque no está permitido.

3) Distancia: si la línea más corta entre las zonas atacante y objetivo cruza cualquier otra zona de la nave objetivo, el ataque no está permitido.

Este último chequeo no está en el manual, lo introdujeron en el último FAQ (y tampoco lo explican demasiado bien... probablemente lo cambien o quiten en una próxima versión porque no tiene mucho sentido).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The 1.1.1 FAQ introduced an additional check: if the range measurement (which must be made along the shortest line between the attacking and defending hull zones) crosses a hull zone of the target ship other than the target zone, the attack cannot be made.(in Spanish below for extra clarity)Para determinar si un ataque es válido o no, hay tres controles:1) Arco: al menos parte de la zona objetivo ha de estar dentro del arco de la zona atacante.2) Línea de Visión: si la línea que une los puntos amarillos de las zonas atacante y objetivo cruza un obstáculo u otra nave, el ataque está obstruido (1 dado menos); si cruza cualquier otra zona de la nave objetivo, el ataque no está permitido.3) Distancia: si la línea más corta entre las zonas atacante y objetivo cruza cualquier otra zona de la nave objetivo, el ataque no está permitido.Este último chequeo no está en el manual, lo introdujeron en el último FAQ (y tampoco lo explican demasiado bien... probablemente lo cambien o quiten en una próxima versión porque no tiene mucho sentido).

Thanks.

(In Spanish below for extra clarity)

Gracias XD

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I find it best to treat Arc and Range as a single test since you need to measure Range within Arc. Also keep in mind that the Range measurement can not cross any other hull zone on the defender and it must be measured between the closest points, even if this results in a failed test. This test is separate from the LOS test.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I find it best to treat Arc and Range as a single test since you need to measure Range within Arc. Also keep in mind that the Range measurement can not cross any other hull zone on the defender and it must be measured between the closest points, even if this results in a failed test. This test is separate from the LOS test.

Closest point your arc can see

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...