Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
DUR

TRC's = long range alpha strike of doom?

Recommended Posts

I'm just checking to see if I'm reading this right, but could you potentially switch 4 red die on a CR90 (since there's no "once per round" or "exhaust" on the card)?  Yes, you'd have lost your tokens, but +8 damage at long range seems kinda nuts.

 

i'm just thinking of double arc CR90's at 51 pts each delivering said payload and then just running away for the rest of the game (or ramming things, depending on your mood and MoV concerns)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I am guessing we are talking about Turbolaser Reroute Circuits?

 

If we are, the text reads:

 

"while attacking, you may spend 1 evade defense token to change 1 red die to a face with a crit or hit/hit icons."

 

So at most a ship would be able to spend up to 2 evade tokens, 1 on each of its 2 attacks. Clearly states 1 evade token when attacking.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks, didn't know about Warlord being nailed down to 1 per attack (actually, would you mind pointing me to that?  I can't find it on the forum as my search-fu sucks).  Based on the wording, wasn't sure if the "spend 1 to change 1" was merely indicating each token does one die.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks, didn't know about Warlord being nailed down to 1 per attack (actually, would you mind pointing me to that?  I can't find it on the forum as my search-fu sucks).  Based on the wording, wasn't sure if the "spend 1 to change 1" was merely indicating each token does one die.

 

it is spend one to change one die result, but it is also spend one (and, implicitly, only one--not one or two or three) while attacking

 

 

Warlord's in the FAQ

 

otherwise, you'll have "spend any number of defense tokens" and "for each token spent this way, do X"

Edited by ficklegreendice

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Spend does not equal exhaust does it? So this trick can only be done twice?

 

Spend is using the defense token.

 

So it is green to red or red to gone (cant use it anymore)

Spend does not equal exhaust does it? So this trick can only be done twice?

they are same with defense tokens so it can be done every turn as long as you don't use your defense token.

Thanks

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

Thanks, didn't know about Warlord being nailed down to 1 per attack (actually, would you mind pointing me to that?  I can't find it on the forum as my search-fu sucks).  Based on the wording, wasn't sure if the "spend 1 to change 1" was merely indicating each token does one die.

 

it is spend one to change one die result, but it is also spend one (and, implicitly, only one--not one or two or three) while attacking

 

 

Warlord's in the FAQ

 

otherwise, you'll have "spend any number of defense tokens" and "for each token spent this way, do X"

 

 

Indeed. The relevant rules passage is the following (p.5, Effect Use and Timing):

 

"A “while” effect can be resolved during the specified event and cannot occur again during that instance of the event."

 

So during the specified event (an attack) you cannot resolve Warlord's ability (change 1 die) more than once.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Still, it is intriguing for a NebB.

Between Accuracy and HTT's, we don't get a lot of use from our single evade, so it's not a terrible price to pay.

Throwing out three Red dice out the front (four with a CF dial), we're expecting a miss result every time we fire, so we're talking plus two damage a round (and plus one at worst). So we can afford to change a die facing without losing another die.

I know I'm looking at Home One as a flagship, because I'm stubborn like that, and now I'm looking at my NebB throwing out 4-5 damage and an Accuracy (thanks Home One) at those pesky SD's with their single brace.

I'm not saying I'm totally sold on the Reroute and I'm tossing my other Turbolasers in the trash, but I will be giving them some chances to win me over.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Still, it is intriguing for a NebB.

Between Accuracy and HTT's, we don't get a lot of use from our single evade, so it's not a terrible price to pay.

Throwing out three Red dice out the front (four with a CF dial), we're expecting a miss result every time we fire, so we're talking plus two damage a round (and plus one at worst). So we can afford to change a die facing without losing another die.

I know I'm looking at Home One as a flagship, because I'm stubborn like that, and now I'm looking at my NebB throwing out 4-5 damage and an Accuracy (thanks Home One) at those pesky SD's with their single brace.

I'm not saying I'm totally sold on the Reroute and I'm tossing my other Turbolasers in the trash, but I will be giving them some chances to win me over.

 

Man, that's some good combo with Salvation right there...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

Still, it is intriguing for a NebB.

Between Accuracy and HTT's, we don't get a lot of use from our single evade, so it's not a terrible price to pay.

Throwing out three Red dice out the front (four with a CF dial), we're expecting a miss result every time we fire, so we're talking plus two damage a round (and plus one at worst). So we can afford to change a die facing without losing another die.

I know I'm looking at Home One as a flagship, because I'm stubborn like that, and now I'm looking at my NebB throwing out 4-5 damage and an Accuracy (thanks Home One) at those pesky SD's with their single brace.

I'm not saying I'm totally sold on the Reroute and I'm tossing my other Turbolasers in the trash, but I will be giving them some chances to win me over.

 

Man, that's some good combo with Salvation right there...

 

 

bit redundant, actually

 

TRCs already give you the hithit option

 

 

kinda turns your **** Nebs into Salvation, though

 

 

 

Personally speaking, the Nebs are never a ship I reach for when I need to shoot something dead (apart from Salvation). Nebs are there to escort my B-wings around ^_^

 

 

depending on how it plays out, though, TRC could give the support refit some much needed punch. Not sure it'll outperform a CR-90a, though

 

 

also could be fun to mini-skreed on Scout Shrimps or to throw onto a Needa destroyer for some really unexpected long range punch (evades, though)

Edited by ficklegreendice

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Still, it is intriguing for a NebB.

Between Accuracy and HTT's, we don't get a lot of use from our single evade, so it's not a terrible price to pay.

Throwing out three Red dice out the front (four with a CF dial), we're expecting a miss result every time we fire, so we're talking plus two damage a round (and plus one at worst). So we can afford to change a die facing without losing another die.

I know I'm looking at Home One as a flagship, because I'm stubborn like that, and now I'm looking at my NebB throwing out 4-5 damage and an Accuracy (thanks Home One) at those pesky SD's with their single brace.

I'm not saying I'm totally sold on the Reroute and I'm tossing my other Turbolasers in the trash, but I will be giving them some chances to win me over.

 

Man, that's some good combo with Salvation right there...

 

bit redundant, actually

 

TRCs already give you the hithit option

 

 

kinda turns your **** Nebs into Salvation, though

 

 

 

Personally speaking, the Nebs are never a ship I reach for when I need to shoot something dead (apart from Salvation). Nebs are there to escort my B-wings around ^_^

 

 

depending on how it plays out, though, TRC could give the support refit some much needed punch. Not sure it'll outperform a CR-90a, though

 

 

also could be fun to mini-skreed on Scout Shrimps or to throw onto a Needa destroyer for some really unexpected long range punch (evades, though)

Scout Shrimps should just be called Scrimps.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Scrimp sounds vaguely unappealing

 

can't exactly put my finger on it, but it certain sounds like a xenophobic slur against a sci-fii species :P

 

 

"**** mon cals. A load of the scrimp just moved into my sector and now the property values of GSDs are dropping. Tell me that's a coincidence."

Edited by ficklegreendice

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

On a side note, just want to compare slaved turrets vs trc. From what I can see, it seems like slaved turrets were made for nebs, making that nose more pointy. But trc allows for a confirmed two damage. Which is better on salvation/normal neb?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

On a side note, just want to compare slaved turrets vs trc. From what I can see, it seems like slaved turrets were made for nebs, making that nose more pointy. But trc allows for a confirmed two damage. Which is better on salvation/normal neb?

Slaved Turrets gives you one more Red die, which could just be another miss, and is best on a Support over Escort NebB.

TRC gives you a guaranteed extra point or two of damage, at a price.

X17 does a better job focusing fire in a single shield, but is susceptible to Brace and is better with more damage.

HTT does a better job versus Brace, but a NebB doesn't usually generate enough damage to really make that threat work.

Edited by coastcityo

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Still, it is intriguing for a NebB.

Between Accuracy and HTT's, we don't get a lot of use from our single evade, so it's not a terrible price to pay.

Throwing out three Red dice out the front (four with a CF dial), we're expecting a miss result every time we fire, so we're talking plus two damage a round (and plus one at worst). So we can afford to change a die facing without losing another die.

I know I'm looking at Home One as a flagship, because I'm stubborn like that, and now I'm looking at my NebB throwing out 4-5 damage and an Accuracy (thanks Home One) at those pesky SD's with their single brace.

I'm not saying I'm totally sold on the Reroute and I'm tossing my other Turbolasers in the trash, but I will be giving them some chances to win me over.

 

Man, that's some good combo with Salvation right there...

 

bit redundant, actually

 

TRCs already give you the hithit option

 

 

kinda turns your **** Nebs into Salvation, though

 

 

 

Personally speaking, the Nebs are never a ship I reach for when I need to shoot something dead (apart from Salvation). Nebs are there to escort my B-wings around ^_^

 

 

depending on how it plays out, though, TRC could give the support refit some much needed punch. Not sure it'll outperform a CR-90a, though

 

 

also could be fun to mini-skreed on Scout Shrimps or to throw onto a Needa destroyer for some really unexpected long range punch (evades, though)

I'm a NebB man, it's just what I am.

In regards to your "redundant" comment, I look at it like this. Home One opens up on a Star Destroyer, said SD is probably going to use one or two Defense Tokens in response. Now my NebB opens up on it rolling three dice, TRC gives me one to two extra points of damage, and Home One gives me an Accuracy. If I have one Accuracy, then Brace is gone, and I can remove Brace and possibly force him into using an already used Defense Token if I have two Accuracy results. If I'm running Salvation (not too big an if), I can gain an Accuracy and insure not only a double hit but also a Crit, and that's not bad in my book.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

you could do all of the above with an otherwise naked Neb and save 7 points

 

 

 

personally, still more excited about corvs. This thing makes them sting.

 

 

ofc, TRC + Home One = guaranteed brace + 2 damage, and that's kind of hilarious. Mon Cal surrounded by nippy cr-90 swarm, anyone?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...