Sign in to follow this  
thorrk

State of the meta

Hello guys,

I am new to armada, so far I've bought a  starter set and a couple of expansions just to have fun with my brother. I am loving it and as soon as i find a good gaming group  i will  try the game competitively. 

But before further investments, I would like to know a bit more about the metagame in tournament and how does the game looks like at a competitive level.

I know that the game is pretty new and the meta is probably going to be shaken with the wave 2, but still I would like to acknowledge the current meta. For me it's the best way to measure how good the balance is, which is a huge factor for me.

By looking around I have seen a lot of different builds and combos, but as a beginner i have no idea what is part of the meta and what is just fun/original/experimental builds.

So if you guys can show me where i can find a list of the most popular/successful list from both alliance and empire that would be great.

Thanks

In my personal opinion, the meta still seems very all over the place. With only one set of expansions there doesn't seem to be too much of a "set" meta so far. I can tell you what I have seen so far, and anyone else can either add to it or correct me if I'm wrong.

- Victory-I's seem far more popular in fleet builds than Victory-II's because damage output for the imperials is important. Having black dice to attack with can win games from sheer number of  hits at the expense of needing to get close with your ships.

- Mon Mothma appears to be the best Rebel fleet admiral so far. Her ability gives a lot more survivability to the rebel ships.

- Gladiators function the best when equipped with Wulff Yularen and Engine Techs.

- Starfighter squadrons with Bomber are Rebel fleets best friends.

Edited by Derpzilla88