Hedgehogmech 603 Posted September 23, 2015 This may have been mentioned already, but I missed it so though it would be handy to point it out. Barrel Roll "If a player declares a barrel roll action for his ship and cannot complete the action in the desired direction, he may choose a different direction or a different action entirely." Boost "If a player declares a boost action for his ship and cannot complete the action using the desired direction, he may choose a different direction or a different action entirely." So how many people (like me) assumed they knew the rules in the new rulebook already? Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Tipperary 2,370 Posted September 23, 2015 Hasn't that been in-FAQ for ages? 3 Sithborg, ShakeZoola72 and Hobojebus reacted to this Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Sunitsa 1,565 Posted September 23, 2015 It has always been like this Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
DailyRich 3,346 Posted September 23, 2015 (edited) We'd always thought it was if you couldn't boost/barrel roll in the direction you wanted but could still boost/barrel roll in another direction, you were still locked into the action. Only if there was no legal way for you to boost/barrel roll could you take another action. Edited September 23, 2015 by DailyRich Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Galactic Funk 831 Posted September 23, 2015 (edited) Edit. Nevermind what I previously said. I misread. This has always been this way I believe. Edited September 23, 2015 by Galactic Funk Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
TasteTheRainbow 8,726 Posted September 23, 2015 This is the same way I've always played. 1 nigeltastic reacted to this Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
vyrago 1,051 Posted September 23, 2015 So, my understanding is this: 1. declare boost or barell-roll. 2. check desired maneuver. if you cannot complete the manuever you may select another direction or a different action. 3. IF you check a different direction and it CAN be completed then you MUST perform that action/maneuver. Yes?? There are many that think you can check first, then decide after. I feel that's not right. Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Wayne Argabright 1,581 Posted September 23, 2015 i feel you should not be able to check at all and if you do it, suffer the conquences if you hit something!!! 1 nathankc reacted to this Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Galactic Funk 831 Posted September 23, 2015 (edited) So, my understanding is this: 1. declare boost or barell-roll. 2. check desired maneuver. if you cannot complete the manuever you may select another direction or a different action. 3. IF you check a different direction and it CAN be completed then you MUST perform that action/maneuver. Yes?? There are many that think you can check first, then decide after. I feel that's not right. It's not right. It's always been part of the rules. And to clarify you don't just declare barrel roll or boost, you declare in what manner/direction. You have to declare boost straight, right or left and barrel roll right or left. After you declare the direction then you check and if you can't legally execute it then you can change direction or action.Edit: and you are correct on 3. If you declare it and you can legally execute the action you must. Edited September 23, 2015 by Galactic Funk 1 Rodafowa reacted to this Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
digitalbusker 2,248 Posted September 29, 2015 Once you put the template down, you're committed to that direction if it's possible. Holding the template just over the models and eyeballing it, then claiming not to be committed, gets you a visit from the TO. Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites