Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Hedgehogmech

In case you missed it...

Recommended Posts

This may have been mentioned already, but I missed it so though it would be handy to point it out.

 

Barrel Roll

"If a player declares a barrel roll action for his ship and cannot complete the action in the desired direction, he may choose a different direction or a different action entirely."

 

 

Boost

"If a player declares a boost action for his ship and cannot complete the action using the desired direction, he may choose a different direction or a different action entirely."

 

 

So how many people (like me) assumed they knew the rules in the new rulebook already?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

We'd always thought it was if you couldn't boost/barrel roll in the direction you wanted but could still boost/barrel roll in another direction, you were still locked into the action.  Only if there was no legal way for you to boost/barrel roll could you take another action.

Edited by DailyRich

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So, my understanding is this:

 

1.  declare boost or barell-roll.  

 

2.  check desired maneuver.  if you cannot complete the manuever you may select another direction or a different action.  

 

3.  IF you check a different direction and it CAN be completed then you MUST perform that action/maneuver.  Yes??

 

There are many that think you can check first, then decide after.  I feel that's not right.  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So, my understanding is this:

1. declare boost or barell-roll.

2. check desired maneuver. if you cannot complete the manuever you may select another direction or a different action.

3. IF you check a different direction and it CAN be completed then you MUST perform that action/maneuver. Yes??

There are many that think you can check first, then decide after. I feel that's not right.

It's not right. It's always been part of the rules. And to clarify you don't just declare barrel roll or boost, you declare in what manner/direction. You have to declare boost straight, right or left and barrel roll right or left. After you declare the direction then you check and if you can't legally execute it then you can change direction or action.

Edit: and you are correct on 3. If you declare it and you can legally execute the action you must.

Edited by Galactic Funk

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...