Sign in to follow this  
heliodorus04

I need a bit of extra detail on X-Wing releases

I'm a noob.

I've started catching up here, but some history needs explaining to me.

What was the Phantom nerf?  I have heard from tournament players that the Phantom is 'the most difficult ship to use correctly in the game" (I suppose that was back when it was the newest thing).  What toned it down?'

Why is Soonter Fel so amazeballs?  The number of times I whiff on 3-evade dice is legendary.  I describe 3-evade dice as "Somwhere between Christmas and being buried alive" in its outcomes.  I like Carnor Jax better, but I can't keep him alive anyway :)

What is the new tournament rule for Large Ships and how is it different than before?  And why does it matter?

I've been playing the game for about 9 months - why are the ships coming out so fast!  I can't keep up with the meta...  I hate that, and I'd hate to see this game take the worst of Games Workshop's practices and make it a "expand your collection or lose" situation... 

To answer your questions in order;

A. The Phantom nerf changed the order of the ships Decloak phase from just prior to movement, to an entirely new phase just after dials are set, specifically for cloaked ships. So it went from;

1. set dials                       1. set dials

2. reveal dial                    2. decloak

3. decloak                       3. reveal dial

4. move                to        4. move

5. action                          5. action

6. attack                          6. attack

what this ended up doing was favoring the lower pilot skill Phantoms setting/activating first and essentially cutting Echo and Whisper off as uber arch dodgers/shooters and made it easier for opponents to see where the Phantom was going to end up that round. While it had a big shock initially, eventually the dust settled and it just made players fly Phantoms smarter.