Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
privateer4hire

Confirmation on Giant's Heavy Swing

Recommended Posts

When rolling crowns against a unit that's not yet been damaged (kind of reverse flesh ripper), the giant can cause 1 retreat and 1 wound.

Since dice are committed to effects before damage is suffered, a giant rolling 3 or more crowns could wipe a unit of 3 models completely out.

 

Is this a correct interpretation?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Reading the reference sheet that comes with Mountain Giant, it sounds like you could commit 3 heroic results to cause 3 retreats to a single adjacent unit, but it would still only suffer 1 damage if it was undamaged at the start of the attack. The bold sentence below is the reason I interpret it this way. Otherwise I'd agree with you. I wouldn't mind some clarification myself on this one.

 

"When a player resolves an attack for a unit with the Heavy 

Swing ability, he may commit any number of [heroic] die results to 
cause one retreat each to an adjacent enemy unit. If a unit is 
reatreated by Heavy Swing, and has not suffered damage prior 
to this combat, it suffers one damage.
•  The player may use the Heavy Swing ability on the target unit.
•  Each [heroic] die result may be commited to cause one retreat to a 
different enemy unit adjacent to the attacking unit."
Edited by Budgernaut

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Part of my confusion was relying on a BoardGameGeek posting about the rule as though it was verbatim.

I'd only used/faced the giant once and we applied Budgernaut's interpretation.

It was only after I read a thread on BGG that I started second-guessing.

 

Agree with Budgernaut completely now that we have the txt for direct reference.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...