Sign in to follow this  
thehug0naut

A Mundane Query

(Pun intended ;))

Ok so I'm relatively new to Wiz-War (played probably about 10 games) and now feel pretty happy with how the cards interact (at least in the base game + Malefic, only just got the Bestial Forces expansion).  However there is one topic I still find problematic - the Mudane Trait.

In the rulebook on page 11 in the Card Traits section you will find the following:

Mundane: A non-magical action.  Mundane actions cannot be countered.

Between this and the FAQ, the ruling on Mundane would appear to be very explicit and clear - cards like Heave-Ho and Pick Lock are not spells and you cannot play counter spells in response to them e.g. no Full Shield vs Heave-Ho and no Negate Neutral vs Pick Lock.  However in practice the "cannot be countered" clause has some very odd implications that need straightened out:

1)  Is it just the playing (note not casting) of a mundane card that cannot be countered (as per the examples above) or are the effects of the card also non-counterable?  A good example of this is the damage from Heave-Ho.  Cards such as Delay Death, Shield and Flux Shield trigger on damage - which includes damage from any source be it a fireball attack spell, a non-magical punch or walking through a Wall of Fire.  There would therefore seem to be no reason not to be permitted to use these spells versus Heave-Ho, despite this clearly countering one of the main functions of the card.  Basically it makes sense that this is ok but it seems to not be in the spirit of "cannot be countered".