Sign in to follow this  
OtakuQc

DH2 needs a solid fluff book

Hi everyone!

I'm a lurker. I decided to get out of the Warp to write this.

By the topics of this forum, I think that DH2 need a good background book. The phenomenal amount of information, let me believe that there is no consensus on some subjects. Also, there is some void that needs to be fulfilled..

I think a good supplement containing history, sociology, psychology, politic, economy and religion could contribute a lot for the DH2.

I am a newbie to the world of W40k. My only references are Space Hulk (PC game of 90s) and the Space Marine (PS3). Even with my 29 years of experience in the world of RPGaming, I'm at lost on some aspects of the universe. One example is the everyday life of a subject of the Empire. What are the civilians transport on land, air, sea and space? (I know there is some transports that did not change that much, but still).

Hope to be useful.

Well, lots of that information is considered the background knowledge of 40k (I'd recommend checking out the wiki or Lexicanum if you are interested.) But I wouldn't mind a book with more of a focus on sector lore. I guess the big issue in this case would be that there would still need to be rules in it, otherwise they would likely just commission one of the 40k fiction authors to just set a novel in the Askellon sector. Additionally, I'm not sure I'd be willing to BUY a rule book without many rules.

But even so, it could stand to be made, but then the question is, what are they giving the lore book priority on? I think most of the community is itching for more rules/creatures/items and roles, so essentially Lore book < enemies beyond/bestiary.

These things tend to get fleshed out over time. A little bit of Lore starts to feel a lot bigger when we've got 5-6 supplements.

I am a newbie to the world of W40k.

No offence, but it's noticabe. :)